Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse London Resources: SOC

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources and journals:

• EHARF World Cultures
  Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
  Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
  The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
   
• Berg Fashion Library
  Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Sociological Abstracts
  Bibliographic coverage of sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
   
• Ethnic NewsWatch
  Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
   
• Race Relations Abstracts
  Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
   
• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• Anthropology Plus
  World's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies.
   
• AnthroSource
  Full-text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
   
• WWD.com
  Women's Wear Daily Online is the fashion industry's daily news source. It covers the entire gamut of fashion: business issues, fashion trends, retailing developments, international ready-to-wear, couture presentations, and market overviews.
   
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
  Provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000.
   
• SPORTDiscus with Full Text
  Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, and rehabilitation

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu