Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHI: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
- Credo Reference
Offers access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
PHI: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Philosopher's Index
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
- Project Muse
Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.