Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WGS: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and video sources:
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
WGS: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
- FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
- Film Literature Index
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
- Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.