Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RAE: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- Music Industry Data (Music ID)
Repository of historical and current music chart data for sound recording sales and popularity from Billboard and other international agencies.
- SRDS Media Solutions
A media planning resource leading to online directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. In addition to local market profiles and a tool called local market audience analyst, SRDS covers websites, programmatic media planning and digital networks & technology.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
RAE: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Music Periodicals Database
Covers nearly all aspects of music, including scholarly studies and popular trends.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000.
- Music Index
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present.
- Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications.
- Nexis Uni
Full-text files focusing on legal (federal, state, national) news (newspapers, newswires, transcripts), business and industry information.