Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse London Resources: TRF

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• A Dictionary of Film Studies
  Covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.
   
• Encyclopedia of Television Film Directors
  Each of the nearly 2,000 entries provides a brief career sketch of the director, his or her notable works, awards, and a filmography. Many entries also provide brief discussions of key shows, movies, and other productions.
   
• Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
  Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
   
• Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook 2015-2016 (opens .pdf file)

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• Film & Television Literature Index
  Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Film Literature Index
  Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Communication Source
  Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
   
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
  Provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000.
   
• Media History Digital Library
  Digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu