Research Guides: Anthropology and Archaeology: Getting Started

Other Places to Look at Syracuse University Libraries

Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) maintains and provides access to distinguished collections of rare books, manuscripts, and other archival materials. Syracuse University students, faculty, staff, and other scholars have available to them more than 100,000 printed works and 2000 archival collections, including important editions, manuscripts, documents, letters, diaries, drawings, photographs, and memorabilia.

Visit the SCRC website to learn more and to search the SCRC Collections.

Smithsonian's AnthroNotes Digital Database

AnthroNotes Digital Database
Thanks to a joint effort of the Smithsonian’s Department of Anthropology and Smithsonian Libraries, anyone now can download in-depth, research-based essays and classroom tested teaching activities on a wide range of topics through the AnthroNotes digital database.

Build Your Research Skills with Sage Research Methods Online

SAGE Research Methods Online
Sage Research Methods Online is a great learning tool that provides access to reference readings, video tutorials, practice datasets, and other information about research methods and design.

Databases: Best Bets

Annual Reviews
Annual scholarly literature reviews in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Anthropology Plus
Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
AnthroSource
Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
EHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest Arts
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in design, film, art, music, theater, and humanities.
ProQuest History
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Periodicals Archive Online, Humanities Index, American Periodicals 174-1940, digital National Security Archive, and others.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.