Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SPM: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, advertisement collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing
Overview of the state of sports management and marketing today.
An audiovisual library of more than 120,000 U.S. and international advertisements (1999-present), including Television, Digital, Print, Radio, and more. Content originates from over 20,000 advertising agencies, each providing critical information, such as Title, Agency, Advertiser, Brand, Taglines, and full credits.
“World Advertising Research Center” contains best practice case studies covering advertising, marketing communications and branding. WARC helps identify effective advertising practices, industry trends, and is a gateway to its own publications (e.g. Admap, International Journal of Advertising) and to videos from advertising campaigns.
SPM: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, and rehabilitation.
- Sports Market Analytics
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes abstracts and full-text from leading business, management, and news publications (such as The Economist, MIT Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal) as well as dissertations, working papers, and country-and industry-focused reports.
- Communication Source
Offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Advertising, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- Business Source Elite
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.