Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MES: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- EHRAF World Cultures
Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Growing collection of content, including more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context.
- Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
MES: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
A systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- ATLA Religion Database
An essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
- Philosopher's Index
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.