Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse London Resources: PSC

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• EHRAF World Cultures
  Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
   
• Europa World
  Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
   
• Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
  Includes biographies, articles on events, coverage of international trade developments, and a dozen essays on critical issues written by influential figures.
   
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
  Includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries.
   
• World Development Indicators Online
  Contains statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
   
• Oxford Islamic Studies Online
  Growing collection of content, including more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• PAIS Index
  Chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
   
• CIAO
  Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO includes working papers, conference proceedings, books, journal tables of contents, and WWW links.
   
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage.
   
• Alternative Press Index
  Indexes almost 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines.
   
• Communication Source
  Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
   
• EconLit
  Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. Covers both economic theory and application.
   
• Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
  A systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu