Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HOA: Finding Background Information and Images
For basic background information, art collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and image sources:
- Grove Art Online
Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.
An international architecture database of 20th century worldwide architects and buildings, built and unbuilt, from past to present.
- Visual Culture Studies (eBook)
Presents 13 engaging and detailed interviews with some of the most influential intellectuals working today on the objects, subjects, media, and environments of visual culture.
HOA: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
- Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- RIBA Library Online Catalogue
Index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the Royal Academic of British Architects (RIBA) Library, a catalog of the books, audio visual materials, photographs, manuscripts and a biographical database of architects.
- International Bibliography of Art
Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.