Research Guides: Sociology: Home

What's in this Guide

Use the tabs above to find some of the best online resources licensed exclusively for SU students and faculty by the Syracuse University Libraries.
Start your research at the Syracuse University Libraries' website. From here you can: search for books, videos, databases that offer access to journal and newspaper articles, electronic sources, multimedia and web links.
You may begin with the Libraries' Research Assistance page to begin your research strategy, to get help with Libraries' collections, and for advanced research tips and tools.

Sociology at Syracuse University

Syracuse University Department of Sociology

The Department takes"... an interdisciplinary approach to public sociology in order to understand, critique, and address structural and social inequalities. Known nationally for our expertise in qualitative methods, we also provide excellent training in quantitative research methods. (Department website - About)

Core literature databases for Sociology

AgeLine
Index to articles, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and video related to aging, from health sciences, social, economic, and policy perspectives.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Social Services Abstracts
Index and abstracts to research on social work, policy, services, and related areas.
Sociological Abstracts
Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
Sociology Database
Journals covering sociology and social work.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.