Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARC: Finding Background Information and Images
For basic background information on buildings and design to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
An international architecture database of 20th century worldwide architects and buildings, built and unbuilt, from past to present.
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.
- Birkhauser Building Types Database
Provides access to works on architecture design, including building plans and photos, and articles, covering 2002-2016.
- Materials Connexion
Provides a quick global view of the latest innovative and often cutting edge materials. Designed to serve the design disciplines broadly.
ARC: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
- RIBA Library Online Catalogue
Index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the Royal Academic of British Architects (RIBA) Library, a catalog of the books, audio visual materials, photographs, manuscripts and a biographical database of architects.