Browsing journals is a great way to develop a research question or to keep up with new developments in your field.
Core Journals
Additional Databases: literature in coaching, kinesiology/exercise science, archival (gaming), and more...
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Sport Organizations by
Women, people with disabilities and LGBTQ2+ people are more present on the sports scene, but important transformations are still needed in organizations so that these people are better represented and included in all sports disciplines. This book, which is the result of a research project conducted with sports organization managers, coaches, athletes, experts and other stakeholders in the field, proposes concrete solutions for sport organizations. Throughout the book we propose and explain good practices in the area of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI). Together with numerous testimonials and examples from the field, these practices adapted to the sport environment make it possible to overcome the barriers that prevent women and people from historically marginalized groups from participating in sport and from reaching leadership positions within these organizations. The practices presented in this book are based on an analytical framework for inclusion in organizations that can be applied beyond the Quebec and Canadian context.
Esports and the Media by
This book takes a multidisciplinary approach to the question of esports and their role in society. A diverse group of authors tackle the impact of esports and the ways in which it has grown within the entertainment industry around the world. Chapters offer a coherent response to the following questions: What role do esports play in the entertainment industry? What communication skills can be learned through esports? What do the media gain from broadcasting esports? What is the relationship between social networks and esports? What are the main marketing strategies used in esports? What effect does communicative globalization have on the development of esports? What is the relationship between merchandising and esports? What do communication experts think about esports? Offering clear insights into this rapidly developing area, this volume will be of great interest to scholars, students, and anyone working in game studies, new media, leisure, sport studies, communication studies, transmedia literacy, and digital culture.
Fandom Analytics by
The success of modern sports, entertainment, political, and other cultural categories is driven by organizations' ability to create and manage fandom. This book explores fandom from a marketing perspective providing a multidisciplinary framework for understanding, measuring, and growing fandom. It provides a fandom analytics framework for creating and managing fandom and identifies the macro forces (technology, demographics, etc.) that are changing fandom's structure and societal role. The book goes beyond understanding the foundations of fandom by demonstrating how marketing tools may be employed to value and manage fandom assets. It is designed for existing and new generations of sports and entertainment professionals, as well as scholars, students, and academics interested in sports and entertainment marketing and analytics.
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports by
The three-volume International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports is the largest and most comprehensive work about women's sports ever published. It includes articles on individual sports, sports medicine and women's health, societal and cultural issues, biographies, and historical country profiles. The work provides unique international and historical coverage of women's sports from earliest recorded times to the dawn of the twenty-first century, as well as the geographical and cultural context necessary for a thorough understanding of this burgeoning topic.In 430 A-Z articles, leading scholars and specialists cover numerous sports and sports figures, as well as health issues such as eating disorders, nutrition and bone density, and social issues such as body image, gender equity and Title IX legislation (which mandates equity in school funding for women's sports programs). A number of organizations contributed to this project, including the Women's Sports Foundation, the International Working Group on Women and Sport, Amateur Athletic Foundation, and others.One of the American Library Association's RUSA committee's choice for Outstanding Reference Publications 2001.Booklist: "An important contribution to the study of women's participation in athletic activity. The wide variety of coverage and depth of the articles will make it a valuable addition to any collection needing information on women or sports. It is appropriate for public and academic libraries."
Live Sports Media by
In Live Sports Media: The What, How and Why of Sports Broadcasting, Dennis Deninger provides an all-encompassing view of the sports television industry from his own perspective as an Emmy Award-winning producer at ESPN, at a time of seismic shifts in the industry. Technological advances and the proliferation of sports content across multiple media platforms have increased accessibility to sports events of all kinds across the world. Shifts in viewing habits and audience preferences are changing the dynamic of sports media and the sports industry as a whole. The result: more power for some sectors and diminished power for many others, to which professionals in the field need to rapidly adapt. This second edition has been substantially updated to explore the impact of COVID-19 disruptions on sports and the growth of women's sports broadcasting and evolving sports, as well as political statements made in sports: Black Lives Matter, and "taking a knee." It illustrates the origins, impact, reach, economics, production, and presentation of sports on video media - including, but not limited to, television. It takes the reader behind the scenes to describe the forces and processes that have shaped and continue to change sports content, its delivery, and how it connects with fans. Dennis Deninger draws from his experiences as an expert in the industry to expose how the choices and decisions that are now being made affect the programming, content, storytelling, production, advertising, and delivery of the sports broadcasting that we will see next season and how it will evolve in the years to come. This practical, entertaining book provides insights into sports broadcasting that sports management, media, and journalism students and learning practitioners will not find anywhere else.
Marketing Analysis in Sport Business by
This book explores sport marketing analytics, an essential and crucially important aspect of contemporary sport business. Successful sport marketing begins and ends with the consumer, so understanding the consumer experience is critical. Marketing Analysis in Sport Business demonstrates how rigorous analytical procedures are the key to developing effective, evidence-based marketing practices that reflect real consumer needs. Presenting cutting-edge case studies of sport marketing analytics in action, the book explores topics such as digital communications, social media, digital ticketing, event marketing, the economic impact of COVID-19, developing sport brands, and conducting research with athletes and event participants. Written by a team of authors from 15 countries, including Australia, China, France, Iran, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Venezuela, the book offers insight from a variety of cultural contexts and new perspectives on the global sport industry. Marketing Analysis in Sport Business is illuminating reading for any advanced student, researcher or professional working in sport business and management, sport development, marketing, strategic management, or international business.
The Routledge Handbook of Digital Sport Management by
The Routledge Handbook of Digital Sport Management provides students, researchers, and practitioners with a contemporary roadmap of the impact of digital technologies in sport management, at all levels and in all sectors, in a global context. Divided into three sections addressing digital transformations, digital tools, and emerging digital issues, this book explores the impact of digital technology in the core functional areas of sport management, such as sponsorship, event management, and human resources. It introduces essential digital innovations such as esports, social media, VR, wearables, analytics, and artificial intelligence, and examines the debates and issues that are likely to shape and transform sport business over the next decade. The only book to survey the full sweep of digital sport management, this book is an essential reference for all serious students of sport business and management, any researcher working in the nexus of sport business and digital, and all managers, policy-makers or associated professionals working in the sport industry.
Sport, Law and Philosophy by
Sport, Law and Philosophy: The Jurisprudence of Sport discusses the intersection of law and sport and highlights its usefulness to both legal scholars and philosophers of sport. There is a general recognition that law and sports bear strong similarities. Both can be understood as systems of rules, with a judge/referee who has the power to adjudicate and to issue punishments/penalties. Divided into two parts, this volume presents an exploration of central philosophical issues arising from the intersections of law and sport and makes reference to current events and controversies. Experts from across the globe discuss a range of issues such as sports as legal systems, the game as a social contract, the role of the referee - including video assistant refereeing - rule breaking, equality in women's sport, justice on the sports field and in the court room, and issues surrounding the application of law to sports. The book will be a valuable resource to undergraduates, postgraduates and for those working in the areas of legal philosophy, sports law and philosophy of sport.
Statistical Modelling and Sports Business Analytics by
This book introduces predictive analytics in sports and discusses the relationship between analytics and algorithms and statistics. It defines sports data to be used and explains why the unique nature of sports would make analytics useful. The book also explains why the proper use of predictive analytics includes knowing what they are incapable of doing as well as the role of predictive analytics in the bigger picture of sports entrepreneurship, innovation, and technology. The book looks at the mathematical foundations that enhance technical knowledge of predictive models and illustrates through practical, insightful cases that will help to empower readers to build and deploy their own analytic methodologies. This book targets readers who already have working knowledge of location, dispersion, and distribution statistics, bivariate relationships (scatter plots and correlation coefficients), and statistical significance testing and is a reliable, well-rounded reference for furthering their knowledge of predictive analytics in sports.
Strategic Sports Event Management by
This book provides students and event managers with an insight into the strategic management of sports events of all scales and types, from international mega-events to community sport. Introducing key theory and best practice, it offers a practical, step-by-step guide to planning, organizing, managing and evaluating events.
