CRS - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse London Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

CRS: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, advertisement collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

De Gruyter University Press Library
Full-text of relevant reference books including Handbook of Communication Competence, Handbook of Intercultural Communication, Handbook of Communication in the Public Sphere, and Handbook of Interpersonal Communication, among others.
Visual Culture Studies (eBook)
Presents 13 engaging and detailed interviews with some of the most influential intellectuals working today on the objects, subjects, media, and environments of visual culture.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Brings together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (Communications subject section)
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a range of subject areas. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

Communication Source
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
ComAbstracts
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
GenderWatch
Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Race Relations Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.