Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse London Resources: Home

This research guide provides a number of resources for students participating in the Syracuse London study abroad program, divided by the various courses and disciplines it covers.  Be sure to also look out for the "Other Research Guides" boxes on each page for a more comprehensive listing of subject-specific resources.

(Note: image opens .pdf file.)

To access our databases off-campus, you will need to log in using your NetID and password.

For those who are affiliated with SU but do not have a NetID, enter your 10-digit SUID number as the NetID and enter your last name (all lowercase) as the password.

If you are having difficulties accessing our resources off-campus, please also see this EZproxy troubleshooting guide.

Need research help and not sure where to begin? The Syracuse University Libraries offers a number of resources to help walk you through the research process, including:

• Research Process Guide: This step-by-step guide details the various stage of the research process, from defining a topic to evaluating sources and more.
   
• Citing Sources: This page provides links to our Citation Guide, as well as the various citation management tools that are supported by the Libraries.

Databases are a great way to search through a wide range of electronic resources, including newspapers, encyclopedias, and scholarly journals.  Here are some general, multidisciplinary starting points:

• ProQuest Central
  ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
   
• Oxford Bibliographies Online
  Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a range of subject areas.
   
• Oxford Reference Online
  Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
   
• Access World News
  Full text current content of world-wide news sources, including local and regional newspapers. Coverage includes magazines, blogs, video and audio.
   
• PressReader
  Provides online access to over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
   
• Web of Science
  Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.
   
• Scopus
  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
   
• OpenDOAR : Directory of Open Access Repositories
  Browsable directory of open access repositories. Search by subject, country of origin and content type.
   
• SURFACE
  SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility And Collaborative Environment, is a full-text, multi-media online database that provides mostly open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu

There are a number of libraries throughout London that may be of interest to you. Here is just a small sampling:

• The British Library
  See also their policies on obtaining a Reader Pass to access their Reading Room.
   
• Birkbeck Library at the University of London
  See also their information on how to join their library.
   
• The London Library
  See also their information on how to join their library.
   
• City of London Libraries and Archives
  A listing of some other libraries and archives in the London area; see also their information on how to join these libraries.

If you need an article from a journal that is not available online through the SU Libraries, we can acquire it for you through ILLiad and send it to you via e-mail. This is a free service available to all SU students.

If you are requesting an article from a journal that the SU Libraries do own in print, when submitting your article request through ILLiad, please be sure to indicate in the notes field: "SU Abroad student - SU owns journal".

NOTE: We are not able to send books or other print material overseas through the postal service.

If you don't have an account, go to ILLiad, follow the link for "First Time Users" and fill in the form to create a new account. You'll be able to start using ILLiad right away.