Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HST: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- EHRAF World Cultures
Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Covers in-depth topics that are unique to the Muslim world, including basic beliefs; Muslim political history; Islam in specific geographic regions; thinkers and reformers; movements, society and economy; and international relations.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Growing collection of content, including more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context.
HST: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
- British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
- International Bibliography of Art
Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
- ATLA Religion Database
An essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
A systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- Project Muse
Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.