Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHO: Finding Background Information and Images
For basic background information, art collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and image sources:
- Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on others who have influenced photographic culture from the 19th century to the present.
- AP Newsroom
Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists.
- AP Images Collection
Contains images as well as audio recordings captured by the Associated Press and covers depictions of historically notable persons, places and events.
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.
PHO: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.