Research Guides: Economics: Home

Sources for Articles, Papers, Reports, and Data

EconLit
Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
Foundations and Trends
Now Publisher's Foundations and Trends journals covering business, computer science, economics, energy, engineering, entrepreneurship, robotics, and more.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
OECD iLibrary
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library of publications, including articles, books, working papers, and data sets covering agriculture, development, energy, transportation, and more.
Continuum Economics
Users must create an account using their syr.edu email address to access this resource.

Research reports covering economic forecasts, markets, and policy globally.
World Bank eLibrary
As of 6/30/24, this platform will no longer be available. Please see the World Bank Documents and Reports, the World Bank Open Knowledge Repository, and the World Bank Open Data for content previously found here.

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
"Started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis ... to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. financial system." Includes publications of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, publications of District Federal Reserve Banks, statements and speeches of Fed policymakers, archival materials of Fed policymakers, government data publications, statistical releases, Congressional hearings, books, and reports by various organizations.
IMF eLibrary
Fully searchable full-text library of the International Monetary Fund’s reports, analytical papers, books, periodicals, and statistics.
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research)
“A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works,” the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) seeks to disseminate “unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.” This database provides access to data sets and to the full text of NBER working papers, as well as some access to NBER books and other publications. NBER Programs: Aging; Asset Pricing; Children; Corporate Finance; Development Economics; Development of the American Economy; Economic Fluctuations & Growth; Education; Environment & Energy; Health Care; Health Economics; Industrial Organization; International Finance & Macroeconomics; International Trade & Investment; Labor; Law & Economics; Monetary Economics; Political Economy; Productivity, Innovation, & Entrepreneurship; Public Economics.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
"International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, ... includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor."
World Bank Complete World Development Report Online
On-line source for "every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since the first report was released in 1978." Search tools include "Browse by Title," "Browse by Topic," "World Bank Data," and "Regions."

Some Other Sources of U.S. and International Economic Data

China Data Online
Statistical data related to China, including census, spatial data, charts, and maps.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Standard reference for quantitative data about American history. Statistics can be downloaded to Excel or CSV, printed and graphed.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research : ICPSR direct
ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. User must create free MyData Login while on-campus in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.

DataZoa
A “portal to billions of data series, from hundreds of authoritative sites around the Web,” including the US Census, OECD, UN, BLS, and BEA. After establishing an individual, free DataZoa account, a user can visit source sites, drag numeric data into the personal account, and “build calculations, tables, charts and presentation dashboards, freely inter-mixing any and all data sources.”
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
"An online database consisting of more than 143,000 economic data time series from 57 national, international, public, and private sources ... created and maintained by Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. ... It combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data."
Wharton Research Data Services: WRDS
A "business intelligence tool for over 30,000 corporate, academic, government and nonprofit clients at over 375 institutions in 33 countries ... [that] provides the user with one location to access over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, Finance, ESG, and Statistics." ACCESS NOTE: Users must supply a valid syr.edu email address. A "daypass" URL is immediately issued by WRDS. For remote access, contact Stephanie JH McReynolds at sjmcreyn@syr.edu.
World DataBank (World Bank)
Statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resource, and environmental indicators. Data can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, charted, and exported in standard formats such as MS Excel.

Social Science Librarian

Winn Wasson

Email Me

Contact:

Bird Library 200

315.443.4674

Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology and Archaeology, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility, East Asian Studies, Economics, European Studies, History, Latin American Studies, LGBTQ+ Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Women's and Gender Studies

Economics at Syracuse University

The Department of Economics is part of Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.

Economics Department Website

Syracuse University's Institutional Repository

SURFACE
"A full-text, multi-media online database that provides open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University. ... SURFACE gathers, organizes, disseminates, and preserves the cultural and scholarly record of SU." This database includes Economics papers and dissertations produced by researchers affiliated with Syracuse University