Research Guides: History: Home

General Databases

AM Databases (full list)
Full list of a large number of digitized primary source databases held by Syracuse University Libraries that are provided by the company AM (formerly Adam Matthew).

AM Explorer
Search across publisher Adam Matthew’s primary-source collections of digitized archival content from archives around the world on numerous subjects, including but not limited to literature, history, social issues, cultural studies, global trade, news, and more.
ArchiveGrid
Finding aid for historical documents, personal and institutional papers, and family histories located in collections around the world. Includes millions of records describing primary source materials held by archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.
Gale Primary Sources
A cross-search interface offering "access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions." Enables users to "explore a wide range of … [material], including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more."
Humanities Index
Index and abstracts to humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the United Kingdom (UK) and English speaking countries, as well as newspapers published in the UK.
Humanities International Index
Index to journals, books and other sources in the humanities, produced by Whitson Publishing.
IsisCB Explore History of Science Index
Open access citations to books, journals, reviews, theses and more from the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Periodicals Archive Online
"A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages."
Project Muse
A database "providing 100% full-text ... online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. ... also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. ... provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers."
ProQuest History
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Periodicals Archive Online, Humanities Index, American Periodicals 174-1940, digital National Security Archive, and others.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
A union catalog that contains records for books and other materials in all formats (including electronic/digital resources, audio recordings, films/video, and maps), of all vintages, and in hundreds of different languages. Provides information on titles cataloged by tens of thousands of OCLC member libraries around the world, offering literally millions of bibliographic records and associated holdings details.

Syracuse University's Institutional Repository

SURFACE
"A full-text, multi-media online database that provides open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University. ... SURFACE gathers, organizes, disseminates, and preserves the cultural and scholarly record of SU." This database includes History dissertations produced at Syracuse University.

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

Social Science Librarian

Winn Wasson

Email Me

Contact:

Bird Library 200

315.443.4674

Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology and Archaeology, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility, East Asian Studies, Economics, European Studies, History, Latin American Studies, LGBTQ+ Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Women's and Gender Studies

History at Syracuse University

The Department of History is part of Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.

History Department Website

E-Book Collections

ACLS Humanities E-book
A collection of thousands of e-books in the Humanities that includes material on the history of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Byzantium, the Caribbean, Europe (including Central Europe and Eastern Europe/Russia), and the Middle East.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Log in to enable all features.Digitized print volumes, some of which are public domain. Includes almost half the print holdings at SU Libraries, with full-text searching across the entire repository, full-text PDF downloads for items in public domain or not otherwise under copyright, and full-text access to brittle out-of-print items in SU Libraries.
Login has been updated to the new SU Microsoft SSO. This may result in a loss of access to personal collections. Read more about how to recover access.
Gutenberg-e
Books in many fields made freely available through a collaboration of the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press.