Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Music: Home

for music history & cultures, scores, recordings, data, copyright, and more!

Librarian for Music & Performing Arts

Profile Photo
Amanda DuBose
she/they
Contact:
315/443-4692
Subjects: Music, Performing Arts

Office Hours

 

Office HoursBitmoji image of a short haired white person dancing on a keyboard that says Thursdays 12:20-2:20 pm 301, Crouse College

New Collection Spotlight

Latin American 45 rpm discThe Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American & Caribbean Recordings

Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) has recently made available the first batch of recordings from their Latin American 45's collection, digitally transferred and preserved by the Belfer Audio Archive. Recordings are able to be streamed from any public workstation in Bird Library. 

For more information on the collection, see the collection finding aid on the Libraries' website.

Other Research Guides

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events at Syracuse University Libraries of Interest to Musicians! 


Music Research Email Challenge, Led by Amanda DuBose

Hone your research skills over the course of a week! Challenge will go over how to choose a research topic, the research process, getting started, how to use a research log, and how to Cite That Stuff! Expect videos, a short exercise or task and Setnor concert credit!

Date and Time:

  • Monday, October 24, 2022 - Friday, October 28, 2022

Registration Link


Write Your Program Notes E-mail Challenge! Led by Amanda DuBose

Getting ready for a recital? In a class with a program notes assignment? This 5 day e-mail challenge will walk you through the research and writing of program notes - don't be overwhelmed, be prepared! Setnor Concert Credit is available!

Date and Time:

  • Monday October 10, 2022 - Friday, October 14, 2022

Registration Link


Escape the Library: Scott Joplin's Lost Opera, Led by Amanda Du Bose

Description: The "King of Ragtime," Scott Joplin is well known for "Maple Leaf Rag" and "The Entertainer", but did you know that he wrote not one, but two jazz operas? The second, Treemonisha, survives to this day but when Joplin's producer ran off with the cash box before opening night of his first opera the score was taken as collateral by an angry innkeeper. Some say it was lost in St. Louis, some say in Kansas, but tonight you'll try to find it here in Bird Library! Be quick, test your library skills to rescue it and escape before it is lost forever. You'll follow clues and explore the library in teams of up to 5, music knowledge is not required, but Setnor students can earn concert credit for this event!

Intended Audience: Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students 

Date and Time:

  • Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 6:00-9:30 PM, Bird Library Lower Level (046)
  • Thursday, October 20, 2022, 6:00-9:30 PM Bird Library Lower Level (046)

Registration Link

New Resources!

Library of Congress Web Archives