Database: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Description: The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.
Database: Birkhauser Building Types
Vendor: Birkhauser
Description: Provides access to works on architecture design, including building plans and photos, and articles, covering 2002-2016.
Database: DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including industrial design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, design and craft education and design management. Date Ranges from 1973 onwards.
Database: DETAIL Inspiration
Vendor: DETAIL
Description: Detail Inspiration is a subscription database featuring online access to over 3000 projects from the all print versions of Detail, including the German/English/French edition, the newer English edition and Detail Green This resource provides access to the most popular features of the journal issues with photographs and documentation of recent architecture and landscape projects from around the world.
Database: RIBA British Architectural Library Catalog Online
Vendor: Royal Institute of British Architects
Description: Index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library, a catalog of the books, audio visual materials, photographs, manuscripts and a biographical database of architects.
Database: Art & Architecture ePortal
Vendor: Yale University Press
Description: The Art and Architecture Portal provides access to art and architecture works including images, made available for free as a one year pilot through Yale University Press, and funded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. It provides among many things electronic access to out of print and backlist titles from the Press. Additional university presses and museum publishers are being added to this interactive platform.
Database: Art & Architecture Source
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Description: Abstracts for journal articles in 400 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, and film reviews.
Database: ARTbibliographies Modern
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. Includes information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. Contains abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. Includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Database: Art Retrospective
Vendor: H.W. Wilson
Description: Bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art index. It contains records for items in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer applications and graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.
Access Note: One simultaneous user only.
Database: Bibliography of the History of Art
Vendor: Getty
Description: Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Updated quarterly.
Database: Grove Art Online
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Description: Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001).
Access note: Five simultaneous users only.
Database: Index of Medieval Art (Index of Christian Art Database)
Vendor: Princeton University
Description: Online version of the Index of Christian art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400, begun at Princeton University in 1917. Contains works indexed by the archive since 1991.
Database: Index to 19th-century American Art Periodicals
Vendor: OCLC FirstSearch
Description: Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century, (1840-1907) providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The index describes the entire journal contents: articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements; and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
*Currently this library subscription has lapsed. This index will be again available in 2014.
Access Note: Five simultaneous users only.
Database: International Medieval Bibliography
Vendor: Brepolis
Description: Index to journal articles and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften) comprising 300,000 articles. Updated quarterly the IMB-Online covers publications from 1967-present with enhanced search capabilities (by periods, places, persons, and texts).
Database: Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Vendor: H.W. Wilson
Description: Index to articles in engineering, technology and science journals since 1983.
Database: ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Vendor: ASTM International
Description: Electronic edition of nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM. The new ASTM Digital Library provides over 30,000 papers and chapters and more than 400,000 pages of information.
Database: BuildingGreen.com
Vendor: BuildingGreen, Inc
Description: Updated monthly. Includes information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building, including energy efficiency, recycled-content materials, land-use planning and indoor air quality. Integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News (EBN), and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. Provides a searchable and cross-referenced format.
Access note: Students and Faculty must be on ESF campus for access.
Database: MADCAD
Vendor: MADCAD.com
Description: MAD CAD is a subscription based, online reference database that contains cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes. The Syracuse University Library subscription provides full-text of the current International and New York State codes.
Access note: Access is limited to two simultaneous users.
Database: Masterspec
Vendor: Arcom
Description: Specification writing resource, includes Masterworks and CSI descriptions
Database: Material ConneXion
Vendor: Material ConneXion
Description: Material ConneXion provides a quick global view of the latest innovative and often cutting edge materials. Designed to serve the design disciplines broadly. Material ConneXion offers easy keyword searching options. Users can locate detailed information about specific products and manufacturers. Material ConneXion highlights products that defy conventional notions of strength, weight, and density. Sustainable products are emphasized.
Database: TechStreet
Vendor: ASHRAE
Description: Full-text access to publications of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers, including Standards, Guidelines, Handbook, ASHRAE Journal and ASHRAE Transactions.
Database: Web of Science
Vendor: Thomson ISI -- Web of Knowledge
Description: Citation index to 8700 authoritative, high impact journals, including 200 open access journals, covered by Science Citation Index ExpandedTM, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Backfile data to 1985.
Please Note: For Social Sciences backfile to 1981, see CD-ROM on 1st floor Reference, Bird Library.
Database: JSTOR
Vendor: JSTOR
Description: Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses:Global
Vendor: UMI
Description: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text provides online, full text access to nearly one million dissertations published from 1997, by authors at over 700 participating institutions. The database also includes citations and abstracts to over 2.4 million titles, including dissertation abstracts from 1980, abstracts for Masters theses from 1988, and citations for dissertations from 1637. Dissertations and Theses: Full Text is searchable by author, subject, advisor, and degree granting institution, among other fields.
Database: Chicago Manual of Style
Vendor: University of Chicago
Description: Online citation reference from Chicago Manual of Style
Database: Harvard Guide to Using Sources
Vendor: Harvard College Writing Program
Description: A Guide that explains many aspects on how to use sources.
Database: Digital Sanborn Maps
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Description: One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers, including the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and more. New titles are added continuously. Subjects cover all academic disciplines and include technical training videos. Video links may be embedded into instructional courseware systems like Blackboard. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Description: OnArchitecture is an online audiovisual service providing a synthetic, deep and detailed panorama of the world's main authors, works, experiences and problems related to the field of architecture. OnArchitecture's collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, all of this enriched with a selection of complementary material - documents and audiovisuals - about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
Description: Provides access to talks by key architects and designers.
Database: America History and Life
Vendor: EBSCOhost
Description: America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Database: British Periodicals
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Database: Historical Abstracts
Vendor: ABC-CLIO
Description: Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
Database: History E-Book Project
Vendor: American Council of Learned Societies
Description: Full-text of books in all areas of history.
Database: AP Images
Vendor: Associated Press
Description: AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. As an essential source of photographs and graphics for professional image buyers, AP Images strives to meet the needs of todays global customer through superior image quality, selection and service.
Access Note: Ten simultaneous users only.
Database: ARTSTOR
Vendor: ARTSTOR
Description: Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Database: Structurae : International Database and Gallery of Structures
Vendor: Structurae
Description: An international database and gallery of structures including bridges, skyscrapers, towers, dams and off-shore structures. All periods of history are covered ranging from the pyramids of ancient Egypt and Gothic cathedrals to the most daring bridges of today.
Database: Syracuse Archivision
Vendor: Archivision
Description: Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscape
Access Note: Click on Guest Login
Database: SAGE Knowledge
Vendor: SAGE
Description: This ebook collection contains social sciences e-books, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more, including some from CQ Press.
Database: Social Sciences Full Text
Vendor: ProQuest
Description: Social Sciences Full Text provides fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Database: Chicago Manual of Style
Vendor: University of Chicago
Description: Online citation reference from Chicago Manual of Style
Database: Harvard Guide to Using Sources
Vendor: Harvard College Writing Program
Description: A Guide that explains many aspects on how to use sources.