Architecture: Theory Research

You will need to translate your ideas into ‘concrete” terms: A gateway into a city, for instance, cannot be searched simply under those terms. If specific examples come to mind, try looking them up and reviewing the kinds of subject headings assigned to that example

• Avoid the subject-heading search when researching a concept. Try Keyword
• Try researching the various components that make up the building type. If, for instance, your building is a research institute, then it consists of office space as well as a laboratory.
• As you do your reading or discuss your ideas with your advisor, jot down the kinds of terms mentioned.
• Ask your advisor for specific precedents and then look at the kinds of terms associated with those projects for suggested terms.

In searching the online catalog and architectural periodical indexes, the following subject headings are often applied to writings on or about architecture theory:

• Architecture--Philosophy
• Architectural Criticism
• Architecture, Modern—20th Century (and subdivisions)
• Critical Theory
• Postmodernism

Specific aspects of architectural theory appear under headings like:

• Symbolism in Architecture
• Space(Architecture)

Many writings on or about architectural theory are assigned call numbers between NA 2500 and NA 2765.

Title: The world of Buckminster Fuller Masters & Masterworks Productions, Inc

Director:   Robert Snyder                        .                                                         

Location: Bird-4th Floor, Videos

Call Number: Video DVD 15024

MLA - The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

Philosopher's Index - Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.