Skip to Main Content
Syracuse University Libraries

Architecture: Collection Information Including Recently Acquired Resources

Books and other resources added to the Syracuse University Library collections

Objective

As a subject librarian, I believe that reference, collection development, instruction, and outreach are intertwined and each areainforms the other.
This page includes basic information on the organization and scope of the architecture collections at the Syracuse University Libraries. Additionally, new resources are highlighted on this page and will be updated at least quarterly.

The Architecture Collection

  • Support teaching and learning
  • Includes the research activities of faculty and students
  • Aims to be broad based enough to support new areas of study and changes to the curriculum

Formats

Books and Periodicals

  • Print
  • E-books or online
  • Open-access as available
  • Microform is no longer being acquired but older resources generally remain part of the collection

SUL is focused on e-preferred when possible, through print remains with respect to architectural resources.
Media

  • Streaming as available
  • DVD
  • CD-Roms, video cassettes are no longer being acquired but generally remain part of the collection

Call Numbers:

  • NA
  • SB
  • TH
  • portions of the E,F, HT and other call number areas

Components:

  • New and current acquisitions
  • Retrospective gaps as budget permits
  • Decisions concerning de-acquisition of duplicates, old editions as appropriate and/or moves to off-site
  • Preservation

New Books: Reference

New Books: Architectural History

New Books: Architectural Education

There are no titles this month. (October)

New Books: Monographs on Architects/Buildings

Emerging Architects/Firms

New Books: Architectural Theory

New Books: Architectural Design

New Books:Technology/Materials

New Books: Urban Design

There are no titles this month. (October)