Handbook of Research on Digital Research Methods and Architectural Tools in Urban Planning and Design by 
Research Methodology in the Built Environment by 
Research Methods for the Architectural Profession by 
Research Methods in Building Science and Technology by 
Research in Landscape Architecture: methods and methodology by 
Visual Spatial Enquiry: diagrams and metaphors for architects and spatial thinkers by 
Basic Quantitative Research Methods for Urban Planners by 
Visualizing Research: A Guide to the Research Process in Art and Design by 
Architectural Research Methods by 
Research Methods for Architecture by 
Research Methods and Techniques in Architecture by 
Design Research for Urban Landscapes by 
The Dissertation: a guide for architecture students by 
The Routledge Companion to Design Research by 
Research Methods for Interior Design by Art and architecture topics
Art and Architecture Source - Researchers can track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles, and much more. Indexing of art reproductions helps users find virtually any work of interest including works by emerging artists as well as examples of styles and movements in art.
Grove Dictionary of Art - Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001).
Best All Around
Avery - The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.
Broad based full-text coverage
JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Building Codes
MADCAD - MADCAD is a subscription based, online reference database that contains cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes. The Syracuse University Libraries subscription provides full-text of the current International and New York State codes.
Data
SimplyAnalytics - SimplyAnalytics is a mapping, analytics, and data visualization application helpful for understanding the socio-demographic and economic conditions of any geographic area in the United States. Over 100,000 variables cover demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Data partners include Nielsen Claritas, Dun & Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions. Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.
Resource Guides:
Geographical
China Data Center - The China Data Center integrates historical and social and natural science data in a geographic information system with the goal of supporting research in the human and natural components of local, regional, and global change; and promoting quantitative research on China, collaborative research in spatial studies, and the use and sharing of China data in teaching and research.
Documents & Reports (World Bank Group) - Documents and Reports is a collection of more than 27,000 World Bank operational documents and working papers.
EHRAF World Cultures - eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Europa World - Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
HAPI Online - Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world since 1970. Worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies - Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, produced by NISC, is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 413,530 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.
History
America: History and Life - America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts - Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Materials
Material ConneXion - Material ConneXion provides a quick global view of the latest innovative and often cutting edge materials. Designed to serve the design disciplines broadly. Material ConneXion offers easy keyword searching options. Users can locate detailed information about specific products and manufacturers. Material ConneXion highlights products that defy conventional notions of strength, weight, and density. Sustainable products are emphasized.
See also the King + King Architecture Library Physical Materials Collection
Planning
ULI Development Case Studies - Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. It covers projects from 1985 to the present. Thirty new case studies are added every year.
Site documentation
Digital Sanborn Maps - Digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Resource Guides:
Sociological
PAIS - This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
Social Sciences - Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage.
See also Regionally based resources e.g. Middle East
Technology related including materials, engineering and applied science processes
Applied Science and Technology Full-text - Covering of a wide variety of applied science specialties from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering. Applied Science & Technology Full Text provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories and conference proceedings.
Applied Science and Technology Index Retrospective - Providing content from the Applied Science & Technology Index, this database is useful for tracking down important studies, exploring historic controversies, finding papers by innovators, researching the development of particular technologies, and more.
Visual Materials
ARTSTOR - Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Syracuse Archivision - Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscapes and public art as well as other design related topics.
SU-SOA Slide Resources (school internal drive) - To access these new images, please go to your G drive and find g:\ARCH\Archive\Architecture Slide Collection\
Historical Research
Qualitative Research
Correlational Research
Experimental and Quasi-Experimental Research
Simulation Research
Logical Argumentation
Case Studies and Combined Strategies
Information from: Wang, David and Groat, Linda N. Architectural research methods. Wiley, 2013.
