The King + King Architecture Library is open to all Syracuse University and ESF students, faculty, staff and other registered borrowers. Visitors are welcome to consult materials in-house.
Reference Collection (Room 302):
two-hour loan, one renewal
Reserve Stacks (Room 301):
two-hour loan, one renewal
General stacks:
one week, one renewal
Current Periodicals:
two-hour loan, one renewal
Working Drawings:
Do not circulate. Requests for paper and/or digital copies should be directed to King + King Architecture Library staff. Please allow at least three days for fulfillment of these requests. Payment is required before pick-up of all copies. Paper copies costs average about $1.50 per sheet. Digital copy costs will be higher.
Materials:
one day, one renewal
This collection is located in the Digital Fabrication Lab (Room 008). Please contact the King + King Architecture Library staff Monday to Friday, 10am-4pm for access. Access outside these hours is dependent on staffing.
The King + King Architecture Library is equipped with the following:
Location:
The King + King Architecture Library is located on the third floor of Slocum Hall across from the elevator and occupies three rooms at the front of the building: Room 302 is the main service area and includes the circulation and reference desks. A library catalog look-up station, three computer workstations and two scanners are available to patrons. The current periodicals and permanent two hour books are also housed here. Room 304 (the Collections Room) contains the core circulating collection and study space. Room 301 serves as a seminar space, housing bound periodicals, course reserves and designated parts of the Working Drawings Collection.
Telephone:
315-443-3518
Email Us:
arrstaff@syr.edu -- general queries
baopar@syr.edu -- reference and collection specific matters
Slocum Hall Exterior, March 2017, Stephen F Sartori
Located on the third floor of Slocum Hall, the King + King Architecture Library serves the needs of the School of Architecture, the faculty, and its students for quick access to course reserves, current periodical titles, reference and other core works. The King + King Architecture Library is open the public and the SU and ESF community.
Image courtesy of Stephen F Sartori
Permanent reference including complete works, building codes, technical sources and key titles have a two-hour circulation period. Current periodical titles are kept in the King + King Architecture Library from two months to a year. Each issue is barcoded and circulates for two hours. Please refer to the Architecture Periodical tab for a list of titles held.
Image courtesy of Stephen F Sartori
This seminar room is used for select architecture classes and it houses course reserves, bound periodicals and designated working drawings. The King + King Architecture Library currently houses a select print-based collection of architectural working drawings. These do not circulate. The majority of working drawings are housed off-site and may be requested with prior notice. For details, please refer to the Architectural Working Drawings tab. Syracuse University Libraries has a long-term project to digitize this collection.
Image courtesy of Stephen F Sartori
The general stack collection of over thirty five hundred volumes includes basic surveys, monographs on key figures in architecture, building type studies and technology resources. The loan period is a week.
Image courtesy of Stephen F Sartori
(Prior to the renovation and dedication of the King + King Architecture Library)
The gift is in celebration of the 150th anniversary of King + King Architects. Founded in 1868 by Archimedes Russell, King + King Architects is the oldest architectural firm in continuous practice in New York State and two years older than Syracuse University.
"We are delighted to have this support for the renovation and renaming of the Architecture Reading Room in Slocum Hall," says David Seaman, Dean of Libraries and University Librarian at Syracuse University