Forms and Functions of 20th Century Architecture: Call Number: NA 680 H3 V .3
Time-Saver Standards for Building Types: Call Number: NA 2760 D42 1990
History of Building Types: Call Number: NA 4170 P48
Databases are essential for building types research in terms of precedents, contemporary examples, as well as design and technology issues
For architecture, begin your search with the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. It indexes more than 1,000 periodicals, offering a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations which provide an excellent source of biographical data. The Burnham Index was integrated into the Avery. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. It is updated daily. Full-text links are limited. The Avery remains, for the most part, a citation database.
Birkhauser Building Types Online - Provides access to works on architectural design, including building plans and photos, and articles, covering 2002-2016. This is a digitized version of the various Birkhauser books.
Art & Architecture Source - Indexes the major art and architecture design journals, providing full text.
America: History & Life with Full-text - Contains historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Provides citations from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Useful for city history and urban context.
Anthropology Plus- Is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Check out the other anthropology databases as well.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text - Covering of a wide variety of applied science specialties from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering. Applied Science & Technology Full Text provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories and conference proceedings.
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983 - Providing content from the Applied Science & Technology Index and the Industrial Arts Index, this database is useful for tracking down important studies, exploring historic controversies, finding papers by innovators, researching the development of particular technologies, and more.
Education Source - Provides indexing and abstracts for journals, books, and conference papers in all areas of education, including retrospective indexing back to the 1930's. Includes the full text for numerous education-related books, journals and conference papers.
PAIS - Index with abstracts to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Covers from 1972 to the present with abstracts from 1985; updated monthly. Important source for urban issues.
Sociological Abstracts - Records covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences from 3,000 journals. Covers 1963 to the present; updated six times per year. Check out the other sociological indexing services as well.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts - Coverage includes education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies Where possible, abstracts are linked to full text. Covers 1995 - present.
Women's Studies International: Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
The architectural working drawings collection is an important source of building types information and documents how the building performs and the relationship between its design and working systems.
Go to Information and select Architectural Working Drawings for more details.
Database & Vendor: ARTSTOR
Description: Collection of 300,000+ images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archeology. Specialized image collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America. There is a growing collection of architectural plans being added to ARTSTOR including works by Frank Lloyd Wright.
Database & Vendor: Syracuse Archivision
Description: Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscape
Access Note: Click on Guest Login
Digitized Architecture Slide Collection: King + King Architecture Library staff is in the process of digitizing images from the former Visual Resources Collection housed in Bird Library. The focus is on content not available in our subscription databases. To access these new images , please go to your G drive and go to g:\ARCH\Archive\Architecture Slide Collection\