American Architectural ResourcesPattern Books
Campus Architecture
This is the "Home" page of the "Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Library

Architecture  

This guide presents resources on various aspects of architecture including history, theory, design and technology.
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/architecture Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

NEW Database Resources

Vendor: ASTM International 

Description: Electronic edition of nearly every ASTM book, paper, or chapter from nearly every piece of work published by ASTM. The new ASTM Digital Library provides over 30,000 papers and chapters and more than 400,000 pages of information.
 
Vendor: Syracuse University Library

Description: Archivision is a core architecture collection representing major Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th & 19th Century and Modern sites. The collection also includes gardens & parks, city skylines, cityscape, and drawn images.  
Access Note: Click on Guest Login
 

Faculty Publications








Brown, Lori. Feminist Practices. London: Ashgate, 2011. (NA2543.F45 F46 2011)


Bédard, Jean-François. Decorative Games: Ornament, Rhetoric, and Noble Culture in the Work of Gilles Marie Oppenord (1672-1742). Newark, DE: University of Delaware, 2011 (NK1449.Z9 O6633 2011)

 

Lonsway, Brian. Making Leisure Work: Architecture and the Experience Economy. New York: Routledge, 2009  (NA 2543.R43.L66 2009) 

 

Massey, Jonathan. Crystal and Arabesque: Claude Bragdon, ornament and Modern Architecture. Pittsburgh; University of Pittsburgh Press, 2009 (NA 737.B65. M37 2009)

 

NEW Syracuse University Library Mobile Website

Syracuse University Library recently launched its mobile website.  Optimized for iPhone, Android, and Blackberry smartphones, the website offers quick, convenient access to core library information sources, including hours, contact information, and locations.  No extra application is necessary; simply go to http://m.library.syr.edu/ from your smartphone.

  The mobile website allows users to:

                 Search the library catalog, WorldCat, JSTOR, and mobile versions of a number of Library databases

                Find the locations of all SU libraries and collections

                Get research help via text message, instant message, email, or phone

                Check library hours

                View floor maps of Bird Library

                Browse the Library staff directory and automatically email or place a call to anyone listed

                View library events

 The mobile website will continue to grow and develop based on your feedback.  Use the “Give us your feedback” link to convey your ideas and suggestions.

 

School of Architecture Lecture Series

In the Reading Room, we currently have a rotating display of suggested readings on this semester's guest lecturers.  See the linked document for a complete list of books and articles on these featured architects:

Tuesday 1/31 - James and Hayes Slade (Slade Architecture)

Tuesday 2/7 - Shimon Attie

Tuesday 2/14 - Suzanne Tick

Tuesday 2/21 - Hitoshi Abe (Atelier Hitoshi Abe // Chair of UCLA Dept. of Architecture and Urban Design)

Tuesday 3/20 - Calvin Tsao & Zack McKown (Tsao McKown Architects)

Tuesday 3/27 - D. Grahame Shane (Professor, Cooper Union)

Tuesday 4/3 - Alan Berger (Associate Professor, MIT Dept. of Urban Studies and Planning // Director, P-REX)

Thursday 4/5 - Teddy Cruz (Estudio Teddy Cruz // Associate Professor, UCSD)

 

New Books

Adjaye, David. A House for an Art Collector. New York: Rizzoli, 2011.

NA997 A53 A4 2011

Altoon, Ron. Retail Rescue: Visions + Strategies for Repositioning Distressed Retail Properties. Mulgrave, Australia: Images Publishing Group, 2010.

            NA6218 A48 2010

Ando, Tadao. Tadao Ando: Process and Idea. Tokyo: TOTO Publishers, 2010.

            NA1559 A5 A4 2010

Arpa, J. and Fernandez Per, A. Next (Density Series): Collective Housing in progress. A+T Architectural Publishers, April 2010.

NA7860 F376 2010

Barreneche, Raul A. The Tropical Modern House. New York: Rizzoli, 2011.

            NA7117 T74 B37 2011

Benes, Mirka and Michael G. Lee, eds. Clio in the Italian Garden: Twenty-First Century Studies in Historical Methods and Theoretical Practices. Washington, D.C.: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, 2011.

            SB457.85 C59 2011

BIG. Seoul: Archilife, 2010.

            NA1211 B52 2010

Bjarke Ingels Group: Projects 2001-2010. Hong Kong: Design Media Publishers, 2011.

            NA1211 B52 2011

Burke, Catherine and Ian Grosvenor. School London: Reaktion Books, 2008.

LB3221 B87 2008

Campbell, James W.P. Brick: A World History (Backstein: eine architekturgeschichte). Munich: Knesebeck, 2003.

            NA4120 C361 2003

Charlesworth, Esther and Rob Adams. The EcoEdge: Urgent Design Challenges in Building Sustainable Cities. New York: Routledge, 2011.

            NA9053 E58 E26 2011

Dudler, Max. Hohe Häuser = High Rise Buildings: Frankfurt am Main. Sulgen, Switzerland: Niggli, 2010.

            NA1088 D788 D8 2010

Frascari, Marco. Eleven Excercises in the Art of Architectural Drawing: Slow Food for the Architect’s Imagination. New York: Routledge, 2011.

            NA2708 F73 2011

Hagberg, Eva. Nature Framed: At Home in the Landscape. New York: Moncelli Press, 2011.

NA7208.2 H34 2011

Ivanic, Maja and Spela Kuhar. Contemporary School Architecture in Slovenia 1991-2007. New York: Springer, 2008

LB3219 S57 I93 2008

Levy, Leah. Walter Hood: Urban Diaries. Washington D.C.: Spacemaker Press, 1997.

NA737 H59 A35 1997

Lynn, Greg and Mark Foster Gage, eds. Composites, Surfaces, and Software: High Performance Architecture. New Haven, CT: Yale School of Architecture, 2010.

            NA2543 T43 C66 2010

Merrill, Michael. Louis Kahn: Drawing to Find Out the Dominican Motherhouse and the Patient Search for Architecture. Baden, Switzerland: Lars Muller Publishers, 2010.

  NA737 K32 M46 2010

Modern Views: Inspired by the Mies van der Orhe Farnsworth House and the Philip Johnson Glass House. New York: Assouline Publishers, 2010.

            NA680 M64 2010

Muller, Thomas and ROmana Schneider. The Classroom: From the Late 19th Century UNtil the Present Day. Berlin: Wasmuth, 2010.

LB3325 C5 C52 2010

Pelkonen, Eeva-Liisa. Kevin Roche: Architecture as Environment. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2011.

NA737 R57 P45 2011

Porter, Tom. Will Alsop: The Noise. New York: Routledge, 2011

            NA997 A58 P67 2011

Powell, Kenneth. 21st Century London: The New Architecture. New York: Merrell, 2011.

            NA970 P69 2011

Tawa, Michael. Agencies of the Frame: Tectonic Strategies in Cinema and Architecture. Newcastle: Cambridge Scholars Publishers, 2010.

            NA2500 T38 2010

Tombazis, Alexandros N. Tombazis and Associates, Architects. Mulgrave, Australia: Images Publishing, 2011.

            NA1103 G72 A4 2011

Uffelen, Chris van. Street Furniture. Salenstein, Switzerland: Braun Publishers, 2010.

            NA9052 U34 2010

Viñoly, Rafael. Rafael Viñoly Architects. New York: Prestel, 2011.

 NA737 V56 J64 2011

Waggoner, Lynda, ed. Fallingwater. New York: Rizzoli, 2011.

            NA737 W7 F36 2011

Contact Info

Profile Image
Barbara Opar
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Featured Article

Henderson, Susan R.
Romerstadt: the modern garden city
Planning Perspectives
Vol. 25, No. 3, July 2010,
pp.323-346

 

Recent articles- suggested readings

Borg, Amelia and Timothy Moore. “The Act of Disconnection: Just because I do not send a message within a matter of minutes does not mean I am dead.” Volume, v.28, p.148-151

Jarzombek, Mark. The Metaphysics of Permanence: Curating Critical Impossibilities.” Log, Winter 2011, v.21, p.125-136

Miara, Jim. “Detroit: The New Paradigm.” Urban Land, July/August 2011, v.70, n.5/6, p.75-80.

Rocker, Ingeborg M. “Apropos Parametricism: If, in what style should we build?” Log, Winter 2011, v.21, p.89-100

Zardini, Mirko. “(Against) the Greenwashing of Architecture.” New Geographies, v.2: Landscapes of Energy, p.139-147 

Architecture Recent News

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip