Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Newhouse School of Public Communications - Guide to Resources @ Syracuse University Libraries

SU Libraries' recommended research starting points for Newhouse School students and faculty

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries.  Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos.  Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Digital New York Times

New York Times Logo

New York Times Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries: Access available to all current Syracuse University NETID holders, with @syr.edu email addresses

Provides access to:

  • New York Times content from 1851 to present, from the print and digital editions
  • Digital journalism that includes videos, podcasts, interactive media and more, from mid-1990s to present
  • Page image print edition content:
    • via the Times Machine from 1851-2002
      • Note: PDF viewing/downloading of Times Machine content from 1923-1980 is limited to 5 per day
      • Via New York Times app for 7 days
      • If seeking article text and page imaged print edition New York Times back issues only, these are also available via the library's subscription to ProQuest News & Newspapers (including print editions beyond the end date of coverage by the Times Machine)

      Does not provide access to:

      • Crossword Puzzles
         
      • Note that access is limited to current NetID holders with @syr.edu accounts only, and will expire after a specified period of time. Current Syracuse University faculty, students, and staff may reauthenticate. If you register as a student, enter your graduation year.

Registration Instructions - Digital New York Times

To register for a New York Times Digital Edition account:

  1. Go to this registration page, and if off-campus, log in to the EZProxy page with your NetID.
  2. Click on: Create Account
  3. Create a New York Times account using your @syr.edu address and a password of your choice. Do not use your NetID login/password. Note that access is limited to current NetID holders with @syr.edu accounts only. If you register as a student, enter your graduation year.
  4. Click: Sign Up
  5. Click: Get Started
  6. After registering, you can access the New York Times directly (without going through the SU Libraries site) by going to nytimes.com or connecting via mobile app, if enabled.
  7. Please note the New York Times Terms of Service and Privacy agreements.
  8. If you are having problems registering or accessing your account subsequently, please submit the problem using the Report an Electronic Resource Issue form.
  9. Access will expire after one year for faculty and staff, and at stated graduation date for students.
    • Current SU faculty and staff will receive an email to reauthenticate their account.
    • Students will receive notification when access ends. Continuing students need to reach out to the New York Times to extend access.

Additional information: The New York Times in Education site provides information about educational resources available to account holders.

Already have a personal account:  It is not possible to use the same @syr.edu email address for both a personal and a Syracuse University Libraries digital New York Times account.  Call NYT's Customer Service Department at 800-698-4637 to cancel a paid account that uses an @syr.edu email address, before registering for NYTimes.com access through SU's campus-wide site license. Visit NYT's "contact us" website to see additional options for contacting NYT regarding personal accounts.

Circulation Data

Article Databases - News and Business Sources

  • Primary newspaper and magazine sources:

 

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 {Newsbank} - searchable, cover to cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers.

Chicago Defender {Proquest} - Offers full page/full text page and article images with searchable full text, 1910-1975.

Nexis Uni - Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Licensed for SU only. Available to Law School users from SU campus only.

PressReader {Proquest} - Vivid full color image versions of selected U.S. and international newspapers.  over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.  Maintains a 60 to 90 day rolling archive for most titles.  For some titles/articles, the audio "interactive radio" feature will read that article content aloud, in the original language.

NewspaperArchive - {NewspaperArchive} Page images for hundreds of historical newspapers, some dating back to the 18th century.  Includes coverage of the Syracuse Post Standard.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times {Proquest} - Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants.  Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and covers 1881 up to within about 24 years of the current date.  See also Proquest Recent Newspapers:  Los Angeles Times for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times {Proquest} - All NYT articles, fully imaged, from 1851 to within 3 to 4 years of the current date.  See also Proquest Recent Newspapers:  The New York Times for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal {Proquest} - Known globally for its coverage of business and economics, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this publication in 1889.  Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 18 years of the current date.  See also Proquest Recent Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post {Proquest} -  Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.

Readers Guide FullText {Ebsco} - Large repository of articles from popular magazines and trade journals (1983 - present).

Readers Guide Retrospective {Ebsco} - References to older popular magazine content (1890 - 1982).
 

 

Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Reports

In addition to powerful market research databases like Mintel and MarketResearch.com Academic, SU Libraries also makes available various electronic book titles from publisher Richard K. Miller & Associates. These offer extensive market research reports on subjects that include:

  • Entertainment, Media and Advertising
  • Consumer Behavior
  • International Consumer Markets
  • Health Care Business Market
  • Leisure Market Research
  • Restaurant Food & Beverage Market
  • Sports Marketing
  • Travel & Tourism Market Research

SimplyAnalytics