Reference Books

From the Online Reference Book Collection

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970868
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available as an online edition, it comprises 26 volumes, over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

A small cross section of reference books pertinent to communications studies available at Syracuse University Libraries. This is just a sampling. For reference and circulating books on a specific topic, search the SU Libraries Classic Catalog or SUMMON search engine:

Advertising || Broadcasting/Broadcast Journalism || Magazine and Newspaper Journalism || Public Relations || Research Methods & Theory

Advertising
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HF5803 A38 2003
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns/Thomas Riggs
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HF5837 E53 2000
Marketing Scales Handbooks
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HF5415.3 B785

Broadcasting/Broadcast Journalism

Biographical Encyclopedia of American Radio/Christopher H. Sterling, editor. 2011
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8698 B56
Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics, media, and communications / Marcel Danesi. 2000
Entertainment Awards: A Music, Cinema, Theatre and Broadcasting Guide/Don Franks. 2005

Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 2270 A93 F68 2005
Public Opinion and Polling Around the World; A Historical Encyclopedia/John G. Geer, editor. 2004

Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HM1236 P83 2004
Television & Cable Factbook
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) TK6540 T4531
Television Financial Report / National Association of Broadcasters
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8700.8 T413
The Television industry : market-by-market review / National Association of Broadcasters
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8700.8 T415
TV Dimensions/Media Dynamics
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HE 8700.8 T917
World Radio TV Handbook
Carnegie Library, Reference, (does not circulate) TK 6540 W67
library retains latest two editions

Magazine and Newspaper Journalism
American Datelines: Major News Stories from Colonial Times to the Present/edited by Ed Cray, Jonathan Kotler, Miles Beller. 2003.
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 4726 A48 2003
American Directory of Writer's Guidelines: A Compilation of Information for Freelancers From More Than 1500 Magazine Editors and Book Publishers/compiled by Brigette M. Phillips, Susan D. Klassen and Doris Hall. 2005
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 147 A479 2005
American Literary Magazines: The Twentieth Century/Edward E. Chielens
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PS 221 P45 A44 1992
American Mass Market Magazines
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 4877 A48 1990
Dictionary of media and communications / Marcel Danesi
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 87.5 D359
Editor & Publisher Newspaper Databook /Duncan McIntosh Company
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 4700 E42
Gebbie Press all-in-one directory/Gebbie Press
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 88.8 G4
History of American Magazines, 1741-1930/Frank Luther Mott
[electronic book]
Magazine Writer's Handbook/Gordon Wells & Chris McCallum. 2001
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN 147 W46 2001
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory [online database]
Willing's Press Guide/Willing Service
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) Z6956 E5 W5
Writer's Market/latest edition in general reference
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) PN161 W83

Public Relations
Encyclopedia of Public Relations/Robert L. Heath (2005, 1st edition)
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HD 59 E48 2005 || See also the ebook:
Encyclopedia of Public Relations/ Robert L. Heath - Sage Publications (2013, 2nd edition)
O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms/J.R. O'Dwyer Co.
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HM263 O37
PR News Top 100 Case Studies in PR/PR News Press for Access Intelligence
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) HM 1221 P7 vol 2 (2005/6) - vol 3 (2007)
PR Week Contact/Haymarket Media
free online directory

Research Methods & Theory

Encyclopedia of communication and information / edited by Jorge Reina Schement (MacMillan, 2002)
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 87.5 E53
Encyclopedia of communication theory / Stephen W. Littlejohn, Karen A. Foss, editors (Sage, 2009)

Encyclopedia of international media and communications / editor-in-chief, Donald H. Johnston (Academic Press, 2003)

Mass Communication Research Methods/Sage (4 vols.)
Bird Lib., Reference, 2nd Floor (does not circulate) P 91.3 M366 2009**
21st century communication : a reference handbook / edited by William F. Eadie (Sage, 2009)

**search the subject phrase mass media research methodology in either the classic catalog or SUMMON to identify additional titles, most available for borrowing.