Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Websites & Streaming Media
African News Sources
allAfrica.com, is among the Internet's largest content sites, posting over 800 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 750,000 articles in our searchable archive
Reference Books & Guides
Oxford Music Online
Good for looking up terms, people, instruments, locations, and styles within Western art music, jazz, American popular music, musical theater, and traditional and folk music from around the world.
Contains: New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of American Music, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Articles on musicians, styles, instruments, genres, geographic areas, and more.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online by
Good for looking up locations and cultures when researching world traditional and folk music
This standard music reference source is organized geographically into ten volumes and also has accompanying sound recordings. Browse content by continent and country.
Bloomsbury (Continuum) Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Good for researching popular music from America and around the world
v.1 Media, Industry, & Society -- Look up social phenomena, such as death, gender, record collecting
v.2 Performance & Production -- Look up names of performance techniques, ensemble types, production roles, equipment, instruments, and harmony, melody, and rhythm terminology
v.3-7 Locations -- Look up names of countries, regions, and cities
v.8-11 Genres -- Look up names of genres/styles
Encyclopedia of Africa by
Call Number: Bird Reference DT3 .E53 2010 OR MLK Library DT3 .E53 2010
Browse alphabetically for articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.
Browsing subject headings can be a good place to start searching. Try some of the the suggested keywords below to find recordings, books, or articles, or try your own:
- Music + [geographic term or people] e.g. Music Uganda; Music Yoruba
- Folk music + [geographic term or people] e.g. Folk music Central Africa
- Popular music + [geographic term or people] e.g. Popular music South Africa
- [name of musician] e.g. Fela
- [instrument name] + music e.g. Mbira music
- Songs + [language] e.g. songs Nyore
- Music + social aspects + [name of country, continent] e.g. Music social aspects Nigeria
- Music and race [social group or people]--[country]--social life and customs
- [type of music] + [name of country or continent] e.g. Highlife (music)--Africa
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Music Periodicals Database Scholarly and popular articles about music, with coverage from 1874 to present.
Black Studies Center Scholarly essays, articles, historical newspaper articles, related to Black Studies, from fields such as literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Africa-Wide Information South African produced index including journals, books, and documents covering Africa and African studies. Content includes the Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS, Africa Institute Database, African Journal Online, Media Africa, and NAMLIT, from the National Library of Namibia.
African Journals Online: AJOL Free registration required.
Index of African-published journals covering agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences.
Access World News Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Music Index Index to publications covering music, musicians, and the music industry.
EHRAF World Cultures Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .