Research Guides: Music Scores and Sheet Music: Print Scores

Print Scores at SU Libraries

Syracuse University Libraries has a circulating collection of over 34,000 volumes of printed music, including study scores, vocal scores, chamber performance sets, and scholarly critical editions. The collection focuses on European and American art music from the 17th through 21st centuries (i.e. "classical music") and musical theater vocal scores, with a growing collection of folk and popular vocal music from various regions and ethnicities.

All scores can be checked out with the same borrowing policy as books.
To browse our stacks, visit the 4th floor of Bird Library and look in class "M." (scores are in M, books are in ML-MT)
Purchase requests are welcome! Email the librarian for music & performing arts, Amanda DuBose amdubose@syr.edu

Printed Music in SU Libraries Special Collections

Browse all music-related collections at SU Libraries Special Collections Research Center

Sheet Music Collection Inventory of the music materials of the Osborne family and the Love family. Includes printed sheet music, bound collections of music, and opera scores.
Lichtenstein Music Collection Microfilm of 980 religious and secular compositions collected by Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn during his tenure as Prince-Bishop of Olomouc (Olmütz) in the Czech Republic. Approximately 100 composers have been identified, including many associated with the imperial court of Leopold I.
John Coltrane Performance Transcripts 5 oversize volumes of transcriptions of performances by the African American jazz saxophonist and composer. Transcribed by Andrew White, a Washington, D.C. musician.
Miklos Rozsa Papers Manuscript scores and papers of film composer Miklos Rozsa
Christopher Palmer Collection of Roy Webb Scores Original and reproduction motion picture music scores from 44 films
Franz Waxman Papers Manuscript scores, published scores, and papers of film composer Franz Waxman

Finding a Song

Musical Theater Songs
Database of information about songs from the musical theater repertoire, searchable by voice range, character age, tempo, accompaniment difficulty, composer/lyricist identity, and more.

Music Scores and Sheet Music

Librarian for Music & Performing Arts

Call Number Quick Reference

Print Scores at SU Libraries

Printed Music in SU Libraries Special Collections

Finding a Song