Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries acknowledges the Onondaga Nation, the indigenous people on whose ancestral lands Syracuse University now stands.
Onondaga Nation - Song
The Onondaga ceremonies give thanks and reflect the surrounding living world. At Onondaga we have ceremonial songs and social songs. Ceremonial songs are only performed in the longhouse and are not for public viewing. While social songs can be performed anywhere we want to be social and have lots of fun.
Dances and songs are performed in a counter-clockwise direction. The bean plant, the mother earth, the moon, and the stars; all move in this life providing direction and so do we when we dance. We consider singing and dancing as another way to give thanks. The more spirited you sing and dance, the more you show the Creator how thankful you are. In this fashion, the songs that were given to us so long ago are still being carried on today..."
To learn more about the music of the Onondaga Nation including instruments and videos of social dances with accompanying song, please continue to their website.
The Haudenosaunee Confederacy (a.k.a. Iroquois or Five Nations Confederacy) encompasses the sovereign Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca, and later the Tuscarora nations. Haudenosaunee means "people who build" or "people of the longhouse." The Mohawk are the Keepers of the Eastern Door, the Onondaga are the Keepers of the Central Fire, and the Seneca are the Keepers of the Western Door.
SKA NONH CENTER
SKA.NONH GREAT LAW OF PEACE CENTER
Skä•noñh, is an Onondaga welcoming greeting meaning Peace and Wellness.
Skä•noñh Center is an educational collaborative that includes representatives of OHA, the Onondaga Nation, Syracuse University, State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Lemoyne College, Onondaga Community College, and Empire State College has been formed to create the content for the new facility.
Encyclopedia of Native American Music of North America by This book is a one-stop reference resource for the vast variety of musical expressions of the First Peoples' cultures of North America, both past and present. * Provides print and Internet resources with each entry * Presents exclusive information derived from the personal research and fieldwork of the editors * Includes a timeline that highlights important developments in First Peoples' musical expressions * Supplies an index that allows users to easily look up all of the relevant information on a topic
Call Number: e-book online
Publication Date: 2013-03-27
Recording Culture by
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Recording is central to the musical lives of contemporary powwow singers yet, until now, their aesthetic practices when recording have been virtually ignored in the study of Native American expressive cultures. Recording Culture is an exploration of the Aboriginal music industry and the powwow social world that supports it...
Indigenous Pop by
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Popular music compels, it entertains, and it has the power to attract and move audiences. With that in mind, the editors of Indigenous Pop showcase the contributions of American Indian musicians to popular forms of music, including jazz, blues, country-western, rock and roll, reggae, punk, and hip hop...
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online by
Good for looking up locations and cultures when researching world traditional and folk music
This standard music reference source is organized geographically into ten volumes and also has accompanying sound recordings. Browse content by continent and country.
Most books on Native American music are found in the ML 3557 range, however other books are scattered based on intersectionalities with genre or study. Make sure to use various search terms when using Summon or the Catalog.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
Music Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular articles about music, with coverage from 1874 to present.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Primary and secondary index to sources, including biographies, oral histories, photos, drawings and more from the 18th and 19th centuries related to North American Indians, Alaska Natives and Canadian First Peoples.
American Indian Newspapers
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016. From the collections at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas. Key topics covered include community news, public health and welfare, education, tribal laws and elections, sovereignty, and more.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Art, correspondence, diaries, business documents, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, photographs, printed books, treaties, and tribe records documenting early contacts between European settlers and American Indians, 1500-1998. Content digitized from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library. Subjects covered include political, social, and cultural effects of early encounters; the turbulence of the Civil War; on-going repercussions of government legislation; and the civil rights movement.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Produced in conjunction with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, this collection includes audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera collected between 1905 and 2019.
Native American and Indigenous Studies Guide
Find more information on Native American Nations and Indigenous Cultures explore the Native American and Indigenous Studies Guide.
Camosun College Indigenous Music Guide
Find links to websites/streaming platforms of a selection of Indigenous musicians. Wherever possible, we have listed basic information about each artist as quoted or paraphrased from their website. This list is growing.
University of BC Indigenous Music and Dance
This Research Guide provides strategies and information for researchers searching for Indigenous artists, dance and music performances. It provides resources like books to begin research from, search terms, music and dance videos, current news, ways to find Indigenous artists on websites like YouTube, and a list of local BC artists to add to your music playlists.