Research Guides: Music: Regions, People, and Styles

Resources for Global Popular Music

Bloomsbury (Continuum) Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Good for researching popular music from America and around the world
v.1 Media, Industry, & Society -- Look up social phenomena, such as death, gender, record collecting
v.2 Performance & Production -- Look up names of performance techniques, ensemble types, production roles, equipment, instruments, and harmony, melody, and rhythm terminology
v.3-7 Locations -- Look up names of countries, regions, and cities
v.8-11 Genres -- Look up names of genres/styles
Oxford Handbook of Hip Hop Music by Justin D. Burton and Jason Lee Oakes
Call Number: ebook online
ISBN: 9780190281090
Publication Date: 2019

Bloomsbury Music and Sound
Scholarly books and reference works published by Bloomsbury of world popular music, sound studies, and the music industry. Check out the interactive world map for more information on global popular music.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive provides searchable access to the full-text of more than two dozen major entertainment industry and popular magazines from the late Nineteenth Century to 2000. Titles include the core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, as well as many film fan magazines and music press titles

JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Music Periodicals Database
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Chicano Database
Index to materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes coverage of Latinx experience, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants,
Musical Theater Songs
Database of information about songs from the musical theater repertoire, searchable by voice range, character age, tempo, accompaniment difficulty, composer/lyricist identity, and more.

The SAGE Handbook of Popular Music by Andy Bennett (Editor); Steve Waksman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781446210857
Publication Date: 2015-03-14
Good for researching global popular music, cultural and identity studies, and the global music business.
Bloomsbury (Continuum) Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Good for researching popular music from America and around the world
v.1 Media, Industry, & Society -- Look up social phenomena, such as death, gender, record collecting
v.2 Performance & Production -- Look up names of performance techniques, ensemble types, production roles, equipment, instruments, and harmony, melody, and rhythm terminology
v.3-7 Locations -- Look up names of countries, regions, and cities
v.8-11 Genres -- Look up names of genres/styles
Global Pop, Local Language by Harris M. Berger (Editor); Michael Thomas Carroll (Editor)
Call Number: ebook online
ISBN: 9781578065363
Publication Date: 2003-07-16