Research Guides: Veterans & Military Families Resources: Research Resources

Research Process

The Research Process: Getting Started

This guide addresses all steps of the research process including:

Defining your topic
Choosing appropriate sources
Finding information using various search tools and strategies
Evaluating sources
Citing Sources

Overview of Research Resources

Throughout the Libraries' collections, you may find information related to veterans and the military.

Please see the tabs on the left of your screen for search tips and suggested resources that may be especially helpful when researching veterans and military topics.

Below are links to general research starting points:

Summon
A search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries’ collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries. Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Use for searching for articles. Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.
Classic Catalog
A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Search by keyword, author, title, subject heading, or call number.
Journal Locator
A list of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category.
Databases
A list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data, and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Find books and journals held by other libraries. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages and manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Updated daily.

ILLiad, the Automated System for Interlibrary Borrowing
Request resources (books, articles, and journals) that are not in Syracuse University Libraries' collections to be sent from another library to your email (if available in electronic format) or to Bird Library for pick-up. Please allow adequate time for this (free to Syracuse University students, staff, and faculty) service. If the item is readily available in electronic format, it could be emailed to you within a business day or two. If it is a physical item, it may take a couple days or even a couple weeks, depending on where it originates, to arrive.
Suggest a Title Form
Please feel free to suggest materials for purchase by SU Libraries, and provide as much information as possible.

Subject Guides & Subject Librarians

Subject librarians have created guides (such as this one) to help direct you to research resources in a variety of areas and disciplines.

Research Guides
View all Research Guides here. You can browse by subject, by type, or by librarian.

Below are just a few examples of the many subject guides available:

Business Information Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 3204 views this year
Career Research Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Sep 1, 2023 28 views this year
Government Information
by John Olson Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 960 views this year
International Relations
by Winn Wasson Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 561 views this year
Newspaper Databases
by Michael Pasqualoni Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 1328 views this year
Political Science
by Winn Wasson Last Updated Feb 6, 2024 130 views this year
Psychology
by Emily Hart Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 1447 views this year
Public Administration
by Winn Wasson Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 178 views this year
Sociology
by Winn Wasson Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 219 views this year

If you would like additional guidance on the research resources available in a certain discipline or on a certain topic, please feel free to contact a subject librarian:

Subject Librarians
Directory of all subject librarians. Browse by subject area or by name.