Research Guides: Career Research Guide: Home

Recommended Resources from Syracuse University Career Services

Syracuse University Career Services
Main website for Syracuse University Career Services.
Handshake
Handshake is Syracuse University’s career management tool where students can find job and internship postings, career fair and event details, employer information sessions, and employer descriptions.

Firsthand
Create an account with your syr.edu email address.
Information for job seekers on careers, companies and industries.

Recommended Websites

My Next Move
Streamlined interactive tool for students and job seekers. Includes tasks, skills, salary information, and more for hundreds of different careers.
O*Net OnLine
Complements My Next Move by offering additional search options, data, and reports for researching careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Information on work environment, education, training, qualifications, salary, and job outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Glassdoor.com
Includes employee reviews, salaries, and interview questions on thousands of companies.

Recommended Databases

In addition to the resources and tips from Syracuse University Career Services and the recommended websites, use the company, industry, and article research databases provided by Syracuse University Libraries to create lists of prospective employers, find jobs, discover industry trends and industry associations, and learn everything you can about a company before you interview.

Industry Research

Learn more about the industry in which you would like to work. Discover trends, top companies, and future outlook.

IBISWorld
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Business Insights
Includes company profiles, financials, and SWOT analyses, associations, market share reports, business publications, and more. Search by keyword or NAICS code in "Industries" to discover relevant industry reports.

Additional Recommended Industry Research Databases
Find more industry information with these industry databases and industry research tips.

Company Research

Create your own targeted lists of companies where you might like to work (using industry codes, such as NAICS codes, geography, and other criteria) and learn everything you can about a certain company before you interview.

Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

Additional Recommended Company Research Databases
Explore other company research databases and find additional company research tips.

Business Article Databases

Find more information about a company, industry, or career by searching in business article databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Business Source Elite
Coverage for hundreds of business publications and economics journals, including peer-reviewed publications. Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.

Additional Recommended Databases for Business Articles
Find more articles by exploring these additional business article databases.

Business Information Guide

Visit the Business Information Guide to find more information and resources relevant for career and business research.

Business Information Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Aug 2, 2024 7083 views this year

Business, Management, & Entrepreneurship Librarian

Steph McReynolds

she/her/hers

Contact:

Schedule an Online Meeting

Drop-in Office Hours at Whitman and Bird Library:

Tuesday Morning Office Hours at Whitman:
10:00 am to 12:00 pm (Noon)
First Floor of Whitman (by the main entrance)
NOTE: No morning office hours on October 15 and November 26.

Tuesday Afternoon Office Hours at Whitman:
1:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Couri Hatchery Business Incubator (Whitman, Suite 116)
NOTE: No afternoon office hours on October 15, November 19, and November 26.

Wednesday Afternoon Office Hours in Bird Library:
2:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Blackstone LaunchPad (Bird Library, First Floor)
NOTE: No office hours on November 27.

The last day for drop-in office hours this semester will be December 11.

If none of the drop-in or online meeting options work for you and you would like to schedule an in-person or online meeting, or you would prefer to meet in person, or you simply want to email a question, please do email me. I will reply to your email as soon as possible, usually that same business day.

However, if my schedule is especially busy that week, it may take one or two business days to receive a reply. If you would like immediate assistance from a library staff person, especially if it is after "business hours," consider using SU Libraries' Get Help options, which include a 24/7 chat service.

Subjects: Business, Management, and Entrepreneurship