Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library’s Federal Depository U.S. Government Documents collection is now open to ALL patrons during regular library hours.
Access to digital online Government information is always available, as usual, through the Libraries’ website library.syr.edu and through the Documents research guide.
Government Publications at Syracuse University
The government documents collection includes all types of government publications in all formats. The SU Libraries has been a part of the Federal Depository Library Program for more than 140 years since it was designated by US Congressional Representative Frank Hiscock on Feb 7, 1878. We currently select 70% of all documents available to depository libraries. We also collect other government publications that include:
- New York State, City of Syracuse and Onondaga County documents
- Documents from the Council of Europe, United Nations, Great Britain
The collection includes over 500,000 paper items, thousands of items in electronic format, over 4,000 CD-ROMS and DVDs, and over 2 million microfiche. Materials are located on the 3rd floor of Bird Library. Most government publications can be searched for by using the Classic Catalog or SUMMON
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
I-81 Viaduct Project - July 2021
The Library has the newly released environmental impact statement, both in digital and print format, for the I-81 Viaduct Project now available at the 1st and 3rd floor service desks.
January 6th Committee
Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol.
Links to the Committee's activities, hearings, schedules, and reports.
JFK Assassination Records released
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is processing previously withheld John F. Kennedy assassination-related records.
E-Code of Federal Regulations
New searchable version of the CFR from GPO and the National Archives.
Scanned issues of the US Monthly catalog of Government publications
Digital versions of the Monthly catalog from 1895-2004 now available from GPO.
NEWS - Upcoming release of 2020 Census redistricting data
August 16th the US Census will release the latest data set on the racial and ethnicity makeup of neighborhoods.
President Biden's 2022 Budget now available
Collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions (Plum Book)
Also known as the PLUM BOOK. Updated 12/01/2020. It lists over 7,000 Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment, nationwide.
Senate Intelligence Committee’s bipartisan Russia Report - All volumes
Volume 5 with 1,000 pages, just released, stands as the most comprehensive examination of ties between Russia and the 2016 Trump campaign. Links is for all volumes of this report.
Pandemic Fund Oversight
The Pandemic Response Accountability Committee (PRAC) composed of federal Offices of Inspector General to "promote transparency and conduct and support oversight of covered funds and the Coronavirus response to (1) prevent and detect fraud, waste, abuse, and mismanagement; and (2) mitigate major risks that cut across program and agency boundaries." Rather than a stand-alone organization.
From the Library of Congress. This site provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time.
Pig Book - 2019
NEW and UPDATED!!!! The 2019 Pig Book is now out and searchable. Find all that government porkbarrel spending Congress and the Executive agencies are engaged in.
This is the Official archived version from GPO of the newly released Mueller Report.
United Nations Digital Library
This site incorporates digital content from official UN documents and selected UN maps as well as speech and voting records.
Syracuse University Library has entered into a Preservation Stewardship agreement with the US Government Publishing Office (GPO). The Libraries will be one of four geographically dispersed locations around the country to permanently preserve and retain the print volumes of the United States Statutes at Large.