Business Information Guide

Business Article Databases

Top Two Business Article Databases

Business Article Database Search Tips

• Business Source Elite for Industry Articles: How to find articles relevant to an industry by using NAICS code searches and keyword searches in the business article database Business Source Elite. (5 minutes 51 seconds)
• Citing Business Resources in APA Style: Shows an example of how to find citation feature in article databases and demonstrates how to find recommended guide for citing other business resources in APA style. (1 minute 33 second

Additional Recommended Business Article Databases

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Consider expanding your search beyond business article databases by searching in a multidisciplinary database, which will include articles relevant to business as well as other disciplines (health, science, art, etc.).

General Article Search Tips

For search tips on finding articles, see the following video tutorials:

Google Scholar and Google Search Tips

Remember that the search strategies you may have learned to use in library article databases may not necessarily work in Google Scholar. Likewise those library article database search strategies may not work with a basic Google search or an advanced Google search. Please see the following two links for Google Scholar and Google search tips.

New York Times

The New York Times Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries is available to all current Syracuse University faculty, student, and staff NetID holders with @syr.edu email addresses. This digital edition provides access to content beyond the article content that may be found in the Libraries' databases that include NYT.

Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries is available to all current Syracuse University faculty, student, and staff NetID holders with @syr.edu email addresses. This digital edition provides access to content beyond the article content that may be found in the Libraries' databases that include WSJ.

Washington Post

The Washington Post Digital Edition via Syracuse University Libraries is available to all current Syracuse University faculty, student, and staff NetID holders with @syr.edu email addresses. This digital edition provides access to content beyond the article content that may be found in the Libraries' databases that include The Washington Post.

Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Use for searching for articles. Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.

Note that some specialized business research databases are not indexed in Summon. If you are having trouble finding the business information you need, consider going directly to the appropriate business database or contacting the business librarian.

For Summon search tips, please see the following video tutorials:

When searching in article databases or finding articles online, sometimes it is challenging to determine which type of article you have found. Below is a link to a chart that provides an overview of the differences between scholarly journal, trade publication, and popular magazine articles:

An RSS feed reader will save you time as you strive to keep up with current events and publications.

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) allows you to "subscribe" to online content (such as websites, blogs, and news and business publications) via a feed reader.

Many different RSS feed readers are available, including readers that are part of your browser or email client, as well as readers that may be used with any browser or mobile device.

Feed Reader Tips:

• Set up feeds for an entire website, as well as distinct pages or sections.

• If you hit a "paywall" (the website asks you to pay for the full text) when trying to read an article brought to you by your feed reader, look up the publication via Summon or the Journal Locator to read the article for free.