Research Guides: Business Information Guide: Organizational Behavior

Starting Points to Explore

As you study Organizational Behavior, explore the Articles and News page and Books/eBooks page of the Business Information Guide to find relevant articles and books.

Below are a few book recommendations. Be sure to explore the linked Subjects (such as Organizational behavior and Employee motivation) in the books' catalog records to find additional relevant titles.

Constructing Organizational Life by Thomas B. Lawrence; Nelson Phillips
Call Number: HD58.7 .L389 2019
ISBN: 9780198840022
Across the social sciences, scholars are increasingly showing how people "work" to construct organizational life, including the rules and routines that shape and enable organizational activity, the identities of people who occupy organizations, and the societal norms and assumptions that provide the context for organizational action.
The Emerald Review of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by Robert L. Dipboye
ISBN: 9781787437869
Publication Date: 2018
This book provides an in depth survey of the field of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (I/O), a specialized field within the larger discipline of psychology also called Work and Organizational Psychology, Occupational Psychology, and Organizational Psychology. I/O is the scientific study of how individuals and groups behave in the performance of work activities and in the context of organizations. It is also the application of this research to improving the effectiveness and the well-being of people and the organizations in which they work. It is part science, contributing to the general knowledge base of psychology, and part application, using that knowledge to solve real-world problems
Employee Engagement by Emma Bridger
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 B735 2018
ISBN: 9780749483517
An engaged workforce is critical to the high performance and success of any organization. Employee Engagement offers a complete, practical resource for understanding and creating an effective engagement strategy that is aligned to wider business objectives.
Organizational Change for Corporate Sustainability by Suzanne Benn
Call Number: HD58.8 .D862 2018
ISBN: 9781138665873
This new edition reshapes its plan of action to bring about corporate change by drawing in new management theory and practice on strategy-making and leadership, making it core reading for students and researchers of sustainability and business, organizational change and corporate social responsibility.
The Oxford Handbook of Diversity in Organizations by Regine Bendl (Editor); Inge Bleijenbergh (Editor); Elina Henttonen (Editor); Albert J. Mills (Editor)
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 O94 2015
ISBN: 9780199679805
This book presents the foundations of organizing and managing diversities, offers multidisciplinary, intersectional and critical analyses on key issues.
The Oxford Handbook of Meaningful Work by Ruth Yeoman (Editor); Catherine Bailey (Editor); Adrian Madden (Editor); Marc Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: HD6955 .O94 2019
ISBN: 9780198788232
This volume includes a wide ranging collection of scholarly essays on the topic of meaningful work. The contributions from leading thinkers in the field span ethical concerns ranging from freedom, autonomy, dignity, and human flourishing, to pragmatic concerns such as leadership, work design, belonging, identity, and culture, addressing the organizational conditions for experiencing meaningfulness and the effects of meaningful work.

Research Methods, Including Tests and Measures

Explore the following resources to discover research methods and instruments relevant to the study of Organizational Behavior:

SAGE Research Methods Online
Information about research methods and design; includes Sage Datasets and Sage Cases, and the qualitative and quantitative methods series, "Little Green Books" and “Little Blue Books.”

Tests and Measures
by Anita Kuiken Last Updated Jul 10, 2024 283 views this year

Below are a few ebook recommendations for research methods and instrument design relevant to the study of Organizational Behavior. Be sure to explore the linked Subjects (such as Psychometrics and Social sciences--Research--Statistical methods) in the books' catalog records to find additional relevant titles.

Cognitive Interviewing Practice by Debbie Collins
Call Number: H61.28 .C644 2015
ISBN: 9781446256015
The book provides a justification for the importance of question testing and evaluation and discusses the position of cognitive interviewing in relation to other questionnaire development and evaluation techniques.
Employee Engagement and Communication Research by Susan Walker
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 W3475 2012
ISBN: 9780749466824
Whether you're already involved in research, planning your first project or commissioning an external research company, Employee Engagement and Communication Research covers everything you need to know in order to conduct robust, reliable research. Whether it's a full-scale employee survey or research focusing on a particular subject area such as communication, engagement, change or corporate social responsibility, Employee Engagement and Communication Research is your essential guide covering all the tools, strategy and actions to make your project a success.
Organisational Diagnosis by Nico Martins
ISBN: 9781869227050
Publication Date: 2017
Content includes: Planning and coordinating an organisational diagnosis; Preparing and involving all stakeholders; Developing and sourcing assessment instruments; Survey administration process; Data gathering in groups - an inclusive way of gathering; Analysing and interpretation of results; Follow-up process - clarifying survey results; Report writing and feedback; Action planning and learning; Conducting multicultural research - insights gained from theory and practice; The organisational and psychological impact of Organisational Diagnosis; Ethical and privacy considerations for research
The Oxford Handbook of Personnel Assessment and Selection by Neal Schmitt (Editor)
Call Number: BF431 .O966 2012
ISBN: 9780199732579
Employee selection remains an integral role of industrial/organizational psychology. Modern demands on organizations have required adaptations on the part of those responsible for selection programs, and researchers in evaluating the impact of these adaptations as well as their implications for how we view human potential.
Research Design for Business and Management by Siah Hwee Ang
ISBN: 9781847870261
Publication Date: 2014
Design for Business & Management is a logical and practical book which makes no assumptions about your prior research knowledge. It will instead provide you with a clear understanding of the commonly used methods in business and management research, and enable you to tackle the fundamental elements of the research process.
Research in Organizational Change and Development by Abraham B. (Rami) Shani (Editor); Debra Noumair (Editor)
Call Number: HD58.8 .R474 2018
ISBN: 9781787563520
This volume provides new conceptual insights, robust empirical studies, and thought-provoking chapters to help organizations improve health and wellbeing in society. Some chapters do this by addressing macro-level change: for example, consulting at the eco-system level and discussing the challenges entailed in developing intervention capabilities to impact highly interdependent eco-systems; or discussing the learning and experience of a large system transformation project conducted at a national level that had an impact on societal health and wellbeing.
Research Methods and Statistics: An Integrated Approach by Janie H. Wilson; Shauna W. (Wilson) Joye
Call Number: BF76.5 .W557 2017
ISBN: 9781483392141
This book offers a completely integrated approach to teaching research methods and statistics by presenting a research question accompanied by the appropriate methods and statistical procedures needed to address it. Research questions and designs become more complex as chapters progress, building on simpler questions to reinforce learning.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by Christof Wolf (Editor); Dominique Joye (Editor); Tom E. C. Smith (Editor); Yang Chih Fu (Editor)
Call Number: HA31.2 .S23 2016
ISBN: 9781446282663
Explores both the increasingly scientific endeavor of surveys and their growing complexity,as different data collection modes and information sources are combined.