More Databases & Datasets - Communications Management - Research Guide - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Article Databases-Communications & PR

The focus of the following online databases includes source content relevant for communications studies and public relations. Some are scholarly, others popular and professional, others a mixture of these source types. Many cover a diverse array of disciplines beyond Com Studies/PR as well:

Communication Source
A leading index of scholarly journal literature in the communication studies field. Also indexes some leading popular and trade magazines relevant to communications. Includes coverage of PR journal titles such as: Public Relations Review, Journal of Public Relations Research, Public Relations Quarterly, Public Relations Research Annual). This database merges together two previously named resources, formerly known as "communication & mass media complete" (ebsco) and "comabstracts" (sage)
Business Source Elite
an additional large collection of scholarly, trade and news articles. Use the “GE Geographic Terms” field in the search engine pull down windows to limit one’s research results to a particular country context. Covers nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. Includes coverage of the Harvard Business Review.
ProQuest
Enormous repository of articles that includes leading business and management publications, including English-language titles from outside the U.S. Draws information from thousands of trade journals, academic journals, all major U.S. newspapers, deeply historical newspaper archives, many popular magazines and other reports. If preferring the segment of ProQuest focused on business literature, navigate to the database called ABI/Inform Collection
Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.
JSTOR
Interdisciplinary academic journal articles; coverage can stretch back to the 19th century-thus, an interesting source if you want thoughtful historical discussion of communications management and PR.

SRDS Media Solutions

SRDS Media Solutions
A directory and media planning resource consisting of online directories in television, digital, radio broadcasting and newspaper and magazine print media. In addition to providing local market profiles, categories now available in SRDS include websites, programmatic and networks & tech. SRDS also offers an analysis tool for exploring local markets (aka: "local market audience analyst").

eMarketer

Insider Intelligence eMarketer

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more. The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews. Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis. Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year. Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

Additional Databases

Business sources - including industry snapshots, company profiles, consumer survey data and trade journal literature:

Psychological, social and/or political aspects of communications:

Racial, ethnic and women's perspectives:

Black Life in America
News content from U.S. and global news sources, including African American publications, covering topics such as voting rights, voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice, discrimination, activism and protest movements.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Popular newspaper and magazine sources:

See also SU Libraries subject guide portal for "Newspaper Databases"

Proquest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times {Proquest} - all NYT articles, fully imaged, from 1851 to within 3 to 4 years of the current date. See also Proquest Recent Newspapers: The New York Times for page imaged coverage from 2008 thru to within 3 months of the current date.

Nexis Uni - Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Licensed for SU only. Available to Law School users from SU campus only.

Wall Street Journal - SU Libraries offers access to back issue Wall Street Journal articles via a wide variety of database platforms. Click on the "Get It" link to access back issue WSJ articles via the ProQuest database.

PressReader {Proquest} - Vivid full color image versions of selected U.S. and international newspapers. over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. Maintains a 60 to 90 day rolling archive for most titles. For some titles/articles, the audio "interactive radio" feature will read that article content aloud, in the original language.

Access World News {Newsbank} - Archive of U.S. and international news content. Especially strong in its coverage of smaller, local and regional U.S. newspapers.

Access World News Access Tip: Access World News (Newsbank) has been expanding its range of full page imaged newspaper archives of current and recent content, with titles like The Guardian, The Independent, and more local to the SU Hill, Syracuse Post-Standard. A handy way to see all such page imaged newspaper collections from the Access World News homepage is to click on the A-Z Source List, then click on the column heading for "Format" so that the format type called "image" sorts the page imaged newspaper titles toward the top of that A to Z list.

NewspaperArchive {NewspaperArchive.com} - Back issue newspapers offering full page scans with many New York State sources dating back to the 18th century. Extent of chronological coverage varies widely for each title.

Readers Guide Full Text Mega {Ebsco} - Large repository of articles from popular magazines and trade journals.

Media Intelligence Center (Alliance for Audited Media)
Data on readership, demographics, circulation and digital activity for North American newspaper and magazine publications. A helpful tool for media planning, buying and market comparisons.

Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Reports

In addition to powerful market research databases like Mintel and MarketResearch.com Academic, SU Libraries also makes available various electronic book titles from publisher Richard K. Miller & Associates. These offer extensive market research reports on subjects that include:

Entertainment, Media and Advertising
Consumer Behavior
International Consumer Markets
Health Care Business Market
Leisure Market Research
Restaurant Food & Beverage Market
Sports Marketing
Travel & Tourism Market Research

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Sage Data
Has been described as “The World’s Largest Collection of Organized Statistical Data.”Once inside Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, look toward the left of the screen for a series of subject folders. The "International" folder draws datapoints from sources such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, United Nations and China Data Center as well as World Resource Institute environmental data. Additional categories cover foreign labor statistics, population change/migration, and balance of trade data. Data categories covered for the U.S. include education, commerce, housing and construction, population and income, prices and cost of living, energy, health, labor & employment, banking, finance and insurance.

SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.

Retrieving Specific Journal Titles

To identify whether SU Libraries has a specific periodical (i.e., journal) title in its print or online collection, you can:

(For titles available online) Enter the periodical title into the Library's journal locator (a list of print and electronic journals, magazines and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category) OR
Enter the periodical title into the Library's Classic Catalog (using a 'journal title' search. A list of print and electronic materials available in the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents and more.) OR
(For browsing titles in print format, if on campus) Browse titles alphabetically in the current periodicals area of Bird Library, 2nd Floor