Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Communications Management - Research Guide

A research starting points guide from Syracuse University Libraries for SU students studying Communications Management

Messages to Current and Graduating Students (May 2020)

Thank you video to student employees who are Syracuse University graduating seniors

Message to all Syracuse University students from your friends at SU Libraries

Welcome to a Guide for Communications Management Students (Newhouse School of Public Communications)

Carnegie Library Reading Room

Database BEST BETS

Ebsco Host

Use of one of the two major citation databases is also highly recommended:

 

Six other BEST BET article databases are:

PR Week

P R Week

Weekly trade journal in public relations.  Current and back issue articles are available from SU Libraries via various third party database platforms (e.g., ABI/Inform, etc.).

PRWeek (U.S.) - Online 
*access note:  after clicking on PRWeek (U.S.) -  use the "click here for full text" link   

PRWeek (U.S.) - Print
Current Issues - 2nd floor, Current Periodicals Section - Bird Library
Back Issues - HD 59 P79 - off-site storage facility (request delivery via the Classic Catalog page for PRWeek (U.S.) - Print )

PR Week (U.K.) - Online
*access note: article text for the back issue articles of the U.K. edition can be retrieved using keyword search queries via ABI/Inform database.  Recommended navigation begins at the SU Libraries Journals list.  From that query window type in the phrase PR Week (U.K. edition)

PRWeek digital does not offer institutional subscriptions to academic libraries at this time.  They offer a lot of online content in exchange for a free registration, as well as full digital archival access - together with optional premium features - via paid individual subscriptions (as of 2020, subscription rates begin at $298/year).

  Citation Databases

These two citation databases are powerful research tools that cover a vast scope of interdisciplinary subject matter involving all topic areas. Both also include "times cited" links that allow a researcher or author to follow-up on subsequent citation patterns for an article(s) of interest:

scopus logo

 

 

Web of Science Logo

New at SU/SU Libraries since 2015-2016

voxgov logo

  Watch for the SULinks icon

SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.