Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Video Guide

A guide to identifying, locating, and viewing video collections.

Featured Collections

decorative image

About Our Collections

Syracuse University Libraries collects video content to support the teaching, research, and creative needs of the campus community. These span many topics, disciplines, and genres, including but not limited to:

  • Documentaries, lectures, interviews, and educational films for any and all disciplines
  • Case studies and technical instructional videos for a variety of professional skills, including counseling & therapy, acting and music masterclasses, lab procedures & techniques, architectural & engineering design, software skills, and more
  • Newsreels, advertisements, and other mass communications media  
  • Feature films, art films, and television series for cultural study, design study, and critique
  • Stage works and musical performances, such as operas, plays, concerts, and dance works
  • Unique institutional, corporate, and personal recordings within archival manuscript collections

Our collections have grown over many decades and include the following formats:

  • 30+ databases with streaming video content, totaling nearly 100,000 titles, accessible from both on and off campus
  • 16,000+ physical recordings in our circulating collection, held on BluRay, DVD, and VHS
  • Archival recordings on film and magnetic media, held in our Special Collections Research Center