Free, Open Access, and State Library Resources: Science and Math Resources

Resources below are available to all New York State residents without a password as long as one is visiting the site from a location in New York State, or from out of state with a NY driver or non-driver ID and/or Library Card. If you do not live in New York State, your local state public library system may also offer similar access to subscription content. Contact your local public library to find out more and see the Finding Free Library Resources In Your State section on this page.

NOVELny Collections

• Gale Academic One File: Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including scientific magazines and journals such as Cell, Nature, and Science. Note: One File may only contain citations or abstracts for the latest volumes of some journals. Be sure to filter for full text documents when searching!
• Gale OneFile: Science: Magazines, journal articles, and more in scientific disciplines.
• Encyclopedia Britannica Academic: images, videos, and articles about academic topics, including biographies of scientists

These free resources provide chemical property information and links to chemistry literature.

• ChemSpider: the Royal Society of Chemistry's database of chemical properties
• PubChem and related tools Substance, Compound, and BioAssay: a National Library of Medicine database of chemical information and literature
• NIST Chemistry Webbook: chemical properties and data from the National Insititute of Standards and Technology
• ChemRXiv: preprints of journal articles in chemistry subfields

These sites provide information about DNA analysis, forensic science fields, and federal justice research.

• NCBI databases: information about DNA sequencing from the National Center for Biotechnology Information
• Forensics Simplified: overviews of forensic science fields with links to related organizations and further reading
• Bureau of Justice Statistics: data and reports about crime in the United States
• National Institute of Justice: federally funded research in criminal investigation and law enforcement

• ArXiv: preprints of scholarly articles in mathematics and more
• WolframAlpha: free tool for performing calculations and graphing mathematical functions
• Wolfram MathWorld: encyclopedia of mathematics terms with helpful explainers and diagrams
• PhET Simulations: interactive simulations of math and science topics created by researchers at the University of Colorado Boulder

Numeric Data Resources Guide

This guide, created by SU Data Librarian Paul Bern, contains links to data sets from local, state, and federal government sources, as well as tips and tutorials for data analysis and visualization. Most links are to free-to-access repositories.

Note that tools under the heading "Data Resources at SUL" will require an SU NetID to log in!

Public Datasets on the Falk Datasets Guide

These links on the Falk Datasets Guide created by Falk College Librarian Anita Kuiken direct users to public data related to health sciences and public health topics.

Open Alex - Is a scholarly database that indexes over 250M scholarly works from 250k sources, with extra coverage of humanities, non-English languages, and the Global South. OpenAlex is made by OurResearch, a nonprofit dedicated to making research open. 

If you are still awaiting registration information for your students, you may be able to access a variety of additional subscription resources from your local public and state library systems. For more information, check the appropriate links below.

• New York
• New Jersey
• Massachusetts
• Connecticut

Reach out to your school librarians or SU Libraries staff for more information.

SU Libraries Research Guides

These research guides provide tips and resources for conducting academic research, citing journal articles, and additional resources in scientific disciplines. Note: not all resources on these guides are free. Some will require SUID login.