Research Guides: Free, Open Access, and State Library Resources: Psychology Resources

Psychology Databases

The following databases include peer reviewed journal articles, that can be used for the PSY 205 research project:

NOVELny has several databases relevant to psychology research, that are freely available to NY State residents. The resources in the NOVELny portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is visitng the site from a location within New York State, or via access with a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State and/or via a Library Card. If you are not in New York State, contact your local state public library system to see if they offer similar access to subscription content.

NOVELny Gale Health and Wellness Database - Click on "Advanced Search", then limit to "Peer-reviewed journals".
NOVELny Gale ONEFILE: Psychology - Click on "Advanced Search", then limit to "Peer-reviewed journals".

Directory of Open Access Journals (Social Sciences) - Search for scholarly open access journal articles in the social sciences.

Multidisciplinary Open Access Resources

Lens.org
Search, analyze, manage, and map patents and scholarly research. See the Lens Research Guide for more help.
Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJ
Open access scholarly journals, searchable and browsable across many subjects and languages.

Open Alex - Is a scholarly database that indexes over 250M scholarly works from 250k sources, with extra coverage of humanities, non-English languages, and the Global South. OpenAlex is made by OurResearch, a nonprofit dedicated to making research open.