Numeric Data Resources: Home

This Google Custom search engine performs a search on websites that have been evaluated for their usefulness in providing data and statistics. Results will open in a new window.

Below are links to other pages that may be of interest to you.

Below are links to the various efforts currently being undertaken to preserve US federal data. While much data are already preserved by researchers and places such as ICPSR, there are still pockets of data that are not archived. This list will be updated as new information comes out. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact Paul Bern, Research Data Services Librarian at phbern@syr.edu

Data Rescue and Preservation Initiatives

• Data Rescue Efforts - a Google doc listing several efforts to preserve data, a product of the Data Rescue Project
• Resources and Links - Many various individuals and organizations have worked to archive / save data from the NIH, CDC, and other websites. This page lists many of those entities.
• Find Lost Data - Search across several data archive/rescue sites
• End of Term Archive - The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations.

• Links to archived versions of every CDC.gov page available pre-purge

• CDC data uploaded before Jan 28

• Health Equity Website Preservation Initiative - A form to identify health equity data

• Federal Climate and Environmental Data Nominations -

• Data Liberation Project - The Data Liberation Project is an initiative to identify, obtain, reformat, clean, document, publish, and disseminate government datasets of public interest.

• Extracted Data Contributions - The purpose of this [Dataverse] sub-collection is to store critical climate and health datasets accessible at various locations in one place.

• SDOH & Place Project Data - Data from DCD, EPA and others

• Curating Data for Rescue - Data Curation Network advice on preserving data

• Checklist for USA Federal Data Backups - This checklist provides steps you can take to ensure the government data you use in your research remains accessible to you and others.

• Archive of Data.gov - This is a regularly updated mirror of Data.gov maintained by Harvard Univ Law Library

• DataLumos - DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources.

• Preservation of Electronic Government Information (PEGI) - an initiative to address national concerns regarding the preservation of electronic government information by cultural memory organizations for long term use by the public.

Research Data

• Accessing Scientific Data - NIH page listing NIH-suported data repositories
• Data Citation Index - The Data Citation Index from the Web of Science provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Discover research data, including data studies and data sets and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citations.
• IPUMS - IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Data Resources at SUL

• Sage Data - online service that enables researchers to build statistical tables and charts from multiple sources in a single interface. This online interactive statistical solution aggregates over 610 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 55 sources.
• Social Explorer - Social Explorer provides easy access to census information about the United States from 1790 to the present.
• TRF PolicyMap - Census and other social and economic data with mapping capability
• SimplyAnalytics- allows users to map demographic, marketing, retail and consumer data. Data sets include EASI (Easy Analytic Software) life stage and Mediamark Research (MRI) consumer data.
• ICPSR - The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

Guides Like This One at Other Universities

• American University: Government Information Data Rescue

• Butler University: Alternative Sources for Archived Government Data

• GODORT:  2025 Presidential Transition

• Hamilton College: How Do I Find Statistics and Data?

• Haverford College: Web Archiving and Data Rescue

• The Ohio State University: 2025 Federal Data Availability

• Salem State: Data Preservation 2025

• UC Merced: Looking for U.S. Federal Data?

• University of Albany:  Government Info Beyond .gov

• University of Minnesota: Finding Government Information During the 2025 Administration Transition

• University of Notre Dame: Archived Federal Data 2025

• University of Virginia: Government Information Data Rescue

Articles Identifying Resources

• Preserving Public Federal Data - article about preserving data, has several sources
• Archivists work to Identify and Save - Another article on the effort, also has several sources mentioned
• How to Access Important Health Info
• As the US Removes Health Websites and Data

Guidelines for Preserving Data

• Step-by-step guide for data preservation from MIT
• University of Washington’s GitBook for Data Rescues
• Data Curation Networks's Curating Data for Data Rescues

Numeric Data Resources lists and describes many sources and resources for data and statistics on many topics. Some of the information you may find through this site is ready for use in a paper or report.  Other information may come in the form of electronic files that can or must be analyzed using a statistical software package such as SAS, Stata or SPSS. The web sites listed here are only a small fraction of what is available and are presented as a starting point for your search. We highly recommend using the Google CSE below to find the most up-to-date information. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Data Librarian for help.

Are you looking for qualitative data? Then you should check out  the Qualitative Data Repository:

"The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives. The repository’s initial emphasis is on political science."