Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of these (be selective) can be superb tools for leading you to summaries, encapsulated descriptions, definitions and/or existing literature reviews or shorter lists of cited sources - that identify important literature linked to a subject matter:
Additional note - yet another way to identify specialized encyclopedias and other "reference" sources, using SUMMON at https://library.syr.edu is to apply the "reference" content type search result refinement.
For many of your topics, or related concepts, theories, even proper names of organizations, countries, regions - frequently a relevant article entry will be found in Oxford Handbooks Online
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Online Europa World Year Book providing basic facts, and political and economic information about countries and territories.
Annual scholarly literature reviews in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Specific Electronic Book Databases
Books covering a wide range of subjects, from many publishers
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window
Users are required to authenticate with NetID and password. Not compatible with Internet Explorer browser as of April 4, 2022.
Books and videos covering business, engineering, information technology, well-being and more.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library of publications, including articles, books, working papers, and data sets covering agriculture, development, energy, transportation, and more.
World Bank eLibrary
Collection of World Bank books, working papers, documents and data related to world-wide social and economic development. Includes World Development Indicators data and content from the World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO).
Data Aggregator Databases (highlights)
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.
Browsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research : ICPSR direct
ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. User must create free MyData Login while on-campus in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.
Highlights From Sept 25, 2019 Librarian Class Visit - Journal Article Databases
Although both the PDF, session handout entitled 'crucial starting point options" above - as well as other subpages on this Political Science research guide (especially best bet databases on its homepage) repicate some of what I list below. Here are a short list of databases we pointed toward as helpful search engines for retrieval of scholarly journal article sources (with some exceptions as to segments of same that report findings of original empirical research, in other regards usually called "secondary" sources (which does not imply secondary quality or value, just a source type to distinguish them from primary sources such as contemporaneous newspaper and news media reports and the like)):
Political Science Database
Journals in political science and international relations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Journals covering humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, the environment, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Additional Guidance On Locating Primary News and News Media Sources
Here are some databases useful for locating primary news and news media sources. Additional tips -
If seeking news content from Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic), from its home page - click "advanced search," then click the link to "select a specific content type," then click "news" in order to bring up the proper news search form for this database
- NexisUni brings back news article results from both U.S. and non-U.S. sources, sometimes dating back to the 1980s, in response to entry of search words or phrases - but unlike some other news databases - does not support pulling up a news source from a specific date and looking thru all major stories from that paper or program
- Access World News, Nexis Uni and ProQuest News & Newspapers also include collections of news media "transcripts" in their databases. These are sourced primarily from public affairs related TV and radio programming
- Recall these are only highlights of available news databases. If seeking more options, including specialized collections of deeply historical civil war era journalism, KKK publications, databases that cover specific non U.S. news sources such as the Times (London, U.K.) or Pravda (Russia) - visits the "databases" link at https://library.syr.edu - and pull up the list of all news and newspaper databases from the "type" menu
- For domestic U.S. newspaper content, ProQuest News & Newspapers database is the Political Science Librarian's top recommendation. Several of the major national newspapers here (e.g., New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, etc.) include page imaged content dating back to the founding of those papers in the 19th Century
- In addition to collections of original language TV news in its section, World TV Online, SCOLA's "Foreign Texts" section also contains some page imaged newspaper and magazine content from various countries (extent of what is available varies widely across different county contexts)
- Digital news: 21st Century news website content is not identical to what one sees in traditional news"papers." At times some article content may be identical across those platforms but not always. Of course, the "papers" (absent some form of nanotechnology enhanced digital paper, which we have not seen deployed to consumers) cannot deliver anything digital in the form of slideshows, embedded audio or video, interactive reader polls, etc. Access World News, Nexis Uni and ProQuest News and Newspapers all - to extent they can - pull in 'article text ' from selected online news websites and blogs, in addition to the newspaper content. Access World News also harvests U.S. television news video from selected U.S. TV news stations, as posted on their websites. Many news websites with paywalls focus on maximizing individual subscriber revenue and do not always offer access to libraries. A surprisingly effective tool for seeing news webpage content, current and historical, in reply to typing in a news site URL - is the Internet Archive's "Wayback Machine." For some sites, Wayback Machine scans changes in the content many times per day. Internal navigation on those sites may not work over time, but excellent page content replicas (i.e., screen grabs) are available
- Internet Archive TV News Search: Internet Archive's TV News Search is inspired by Vanderbilt University's Television News Archive database - and captures TV news video dating back to 2009. Television News Archive database focuses on major evening news broadcasts for the major U.S. networks and its index of content dates back further than what Internet Archive covers. Only two networks allow streaming of video via that Television News Archive database - NBC Evening News (1968 to present) and CNN News (1995 to present) - however, for news on those networks that is incredible access not available to those outside the university
- The TV News collections referred to above are for viewing and research purposes. The TV networks own the content and copying and redistribution is not permitted. Vanderbilt offers a paid service where they create DVDs of desired clips for researchers _ for network content besides NBC and CNN, but after a researcher views same, those must be returned to Vanderbilt University. Internet Archive offers a similar service
- All the ProQuest databases, on their advanced search screen, offer a search refinement box called "document type" - that includes narrowing categories such as "editorial," "letter to the editor," "editorial cartoon." "obituary," "advertisement," etc. This can be useful is some rather precise narrowing in on results. For example, a student seeking public opinion from papers in the 1940s on the topic of internment of Americans of Japanese ancestry in prison camps
- All SU students staff and faculty get 50% discounts to personal subscriptions to the digital New York Times. Linked to the student association's funding of free campus distribution of print copies on campus - all also have access to entirely free access to the NYT website on a "daypass" basis. Re-registration required each and every 24 hours, and sometimes available free "seats" may max out. Access points to the New York Times via databases and via NYT digital are described at this SU Libraries research guide for the New York Times - https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/nyt
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Television News Archive
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: The New York Times Recent
Cover to cover page images of the digitized NY Times for 2008 through recent months (3-month embargo); included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: Wall Street Journal Recent
Cover to cover page images of the digitized Wall Street Journal for 2008 through recent months (3-month embargo); included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
NK News Pro
Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), including information news and analysis.
Policy news covering agriculture, budget and appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, energy, health, labor, employment, taxes, technology, trade, and transportation.
U.S. Federal Government Publications - and - Social Media
Yet another category of unique primary historical source material would be any number of original printed, news or news media sources maintained at Bird Library's 6th floor - Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Below is a link to the page from SCRC that describes collection strengths - which at times certainly intersect with historical primary sources tied to politics, public affairs and political history. Use of those sources will be restricted to review at the 6th floor of Bird Library. Might apply to some of you where primary source exploration gets a bit more historical. For example, SCRC collection include ABC News Video donated by SU alumnus, Ted Koppel, consisting of approximately 6,600 episodes of Nightline (Mar 1980-Nov 2005).
SCRC Open Hours
PSC 495 students need not make formal "appointments" to visit SCRC. However, literal review of specific content does require pulling that for your review, which may take 24 hours or longer. It is important to have some general idea of the content you would like to explore prior to visiting SCRC
SCRC Collection Areas Website
Great portal to major areas of collections strength at the Special Collections Research Center
SCRC "Search the Collections" Website
Search tip: If you would like to see extensive lists of various categories for all of the many SCRC collections, leaving the query window blank and clicking "search" will retrieve 100% of the various "finding aid" pages at the left margin