Research Guides: Political Science: Home

Newly Added at Syracuse University

Policy Commons
Papers from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, local governments, and research organizations around the world including papers from dissolved organizations. Includes the modules North American City Reports, Global Think Tanks, World Cities, and World Governments.

U.S. Public Policy News

POLITICO Pro
Policy news covering agriculture, budget and appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, energy, health, labor, employment, taxes, technology, trade, and transportation.

Politico - Is It True?

Journalists at Politico in 2018 have launched, "Is It True? - A Fake News Database." That effort compiles online news that is a hoax, doctored or impostor news publications. Politico accepts submissions from the public of news content falling into these categories. For more information, visit Is It True? About This Project.

North Korea Studies

NK News Pro
Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), including information news and analysis.

News - Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.

LEARN MORE ABOUT NEXIS UNI - WHICH IS THE LEXIS NEXIS REPLACEMENT INTERFACE FOR THE DATABASE FORMERLY KNOWN AS LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC:

Nexis Uni Support & Training (LexisNexis)

PDFs with overviews of Nexis Uni, user search tips, permalinking options, etc.

For a gateway to additional newspaper databases SU Libraries offers - visit the online research guide site called Newspaper Databases - Both ProQuest News & Newspapers & Access World News databases are highly recommended.

Database BEST BETS

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Proquest] - Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. A core research tool for exploring the discipline's journal literature. Looking for other excellent collections of scholarly & professional literature in political science? Try these databases (and be sure to visit this guide's Databases page for additional options):

ProQuest Social Sciences
CIAO "Columbia International Affairs Online" (Columbia University Press)
Sage Journals Online
Sage Knowledge (ebook collections)
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
JSTOR (JSTOR)
SCOPUS (Reed Elsevier)
PAIS International (Proquest)
Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
ProQuest (Proquest)
Europa World (Taylor & Francis)
Annual Reviews (*select "political science" from top tab entitled "journals")
U.S. Political Stats (Sage)
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)
China Data Online (All China Marketing Research Co., Ltd)
China Geo-Explorer II (All China Marketing Research Co., Ltd)
Archives of the Chinese Government (Oriprobe)
Archives of the Communist Party of China (Oriprobe)
Web of Science (ISI)
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development)
Policy Map (The Reinvestment Fund)

And also explore this further segment of ProQuest - specifically focusing on political science sources - -

Political Science Database
Journals in political science and international relations.

Writing & Research

Here are some titles in the Library collection helpful for their framing of research processes and related writing in public policy

Writing Public Policy by Catherine F. Smith
ISBN: 9780190854232
Publication Date: 2018-07-16
In Writing Public Policy: A Practical Guide to Communicating in the Policy Making Process, Fifth Edition, Catherine F. Smith presents a general method for planning, producing, accessing, and critically analyzing communications in a variety of real-life public policy contexts and situations.This practical, concise guide is ideal for students preparing for careers in politics, government, public relations, law, public policy, journalism, social work, or in any role related to public affairs.
Writing a Research Paper in Political Science by Lisa A. Baglione
Call Number: JA86 B24
ISBN: 1506367429
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Even students capable of writing excellent essays still find their first major political science research paper an intimidating experience. Crafting the right research question, finding good sources, properly summarizing them, operationalizing concepts and designing good tests for their hypotheses, presenting and analyzing quantitative as well as qualitative data are all tough-going without a great deal of guidance and encouragement. Writing a Research Paper in Political Science breaks down the research paper into its constituent parts and shows students what they need to do at each stage to successfully complete each component until the paper is finished. Practical summaries, recipes for success, worksheets, exercises, and a series of handy checklists make this a must-have supplement for any writing-intensive political science course.
Public Policy Skills in Action by Bill Coplin
Call Number: H 97 C6653 2017
ISBN: 9781538100196
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
In this completely revised edition, Bill Coplin continues to prepare the next generation of leaders to bring their hearts and minds to solving the many problems that we face in the twenty-first century. The book teaches students the essential components for public policy analysis; how to get information from published sources and individuals; how to survey stakeholders; formulate public policy; examine costs and benefits of a policy; develop political strategies; write a briefing paper; among other skills.
Doing Dissertations in Politics by David M. Silbergh
Call Number: JA86 S55 2001
ISBN: 0415246857
Publication Date: 2001-10-12
This guide has been designed to help undergraduates develop an understanding of practical research methods, and their application in the undergraduate dissertation. Written in an accessible and engaging style, it offers advice on all aspects of undergraduate research, from choosing a dissertation subject through to presenting the finished article. Features of this book: concise chapters which provide an introduction to various aspects of research methods, including: why it is important; quantitative and qualitative methods; and practical application advice, hints and tips on planning, presenting, researching and writing undergraduate dissertations a wide range of examples of research to clearly illustrate different issues and methods which students may encounter guides to further reading and thinking at the end of each chapter.

Online Encyclopedia

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970868
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available as an online edition, it comprises 26 volumes, over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

U.S. Federal Government Publications & Social Media

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online
Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.

Includes a significant subset of archival copies of episodes from the CBS news magazine TV program, 60 Minutes (1997-2014)

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy
One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers, including the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and more. New titles are added continuously. Subjects cover all academic disciplines and include technical training videos. Video links may be embedded into instructional courseware systems like Blackboard. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

QDR

The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives. The repository’s initial emphasis is on political science. QDR is funded by the National Science Foundation, and hosted by the Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry, a unit of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University.

Policy Map

Policy Map is a geographic information system which allows you to easily create and customize maps, tables, and charts detailing various U.S. demographics, real estate, crime, money & income, jobs, education, energy, and public investments.

Congress.gov

Congress.gov makes federal United States legislative information freely available to the public. Launched Sept. 19, 2012, this site is a successor to THOMAS.gov, the previous public site for legislative information.

Social Science Librarian

Winn Wasson

Email Me

Contact:

Bird Library 200

315.443.4674

Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies, Anthropology and Archaeology, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility, East Asian Studies, Economics, European Studies, History, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Political Science, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Women's and Gender Studies