Research Guides: Public Health: Finding Policy

Finding Policy

Evidence gathered to inform policy comes from many sources - legislation, regulations, agency reports, news all influence policy development. Conversely, conducting research on the impact of policy is also another angle of research that many seek to understand. There's no one way or one resource to go to for policy research. If you are feeling lost or would like help identifying more sources or direction, ask for help!

You can also visit SU's Law Library. They have different resources that are only accessible on-site. Our law librarians are also a phenomenal resource to advance your policy research.

Policy-rich Databases, U.S. Gov't sites, and more

Legislation - Federal/State

Congress.Gov

HeinOnline United States federal and state laws, international law, case law, treaties, papers, law and international affairs, journals and more. Access provided by Syracuse University College of Law Library.
Legislative Insight Indexes and organizes United States Federal Government information into topical legislative histories. Each history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and related miscellaneous congressional publications providing background to the making of that law.
PolicyMap Geographic information system with policy-related data about demographics, real estate, crime, income, jobs, education, energy, and more.
Political Science Database Journals in political science and international relations.
ProQuest Congressional Publications related to or from the United State Congress and the Executive branch from 1789 to the present that include laws, legislative histories, House and Senate hearings, bills and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, plus Executive Orders, Proclamations and other documents related to the presidency.
Westlaw Campus Research Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more, plus business, company, news and global resources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Organizations - NGOs, IGOs, and more

Policy Commons Papers from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, local governments, and research organizations around the world including papers from dissolved organizations. Includes the modules North American City Reports, Global Think Tanks, World Cities, World Governments, and Public Health and Social Care.

Policy News

POLITICO Pro
Policy news covering agriculture, budget and appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, energy, health, labor, employment, taxes, technology, trade, and transportation.

Federal Policy News

visit PoliticoPro Database
click on "ProNews" from the left navigation bar
choose "e-Health" or "Healthcare"

State Policy News (NY, CA, FL, NJ, and Canada)

visit PoliticoPro Database
click on "ProNews" from the left navigation bar
scroll to "State" and click on "New York" or any of the others listed above

KFF
KFF is the leading U.S. health policy organization that combines policy research, polling, and journalism to serve as a trusted, independent source on national health issues—balancing industry interests and amplifying the public’s voice.