Use the tabs to the left to find some of the best resources to start with for Public Health research. This is not a comprehensive collection of resources. If you need further help, do not hesitate to reach out to me or my colleagues who staff "Get Help" services at SU Libraries.
Belief, Behavior, and Health by
This book uniquely examines, across cultures, the health benefits and detriments of religious beliefs, with important implications for individual well-being and human survival.
The International Encyclopedia of Health Communication by
The definitive collection of topics currently being studied in the rapidly growing field of health communication The International Encyclopedia of Health Communication presents a thorough overview of a dynamic field, bringing together entries by an international panel of contributors that address a comprehensive range of recent and emerging topics. With a global and interdisciplinary focus, this timely resource addresses cutting-edge digital technology, complementary and integrative healthcare, diversity and inclusion, health equity, COVID-19, and much more. The Encyclopedia provides a well-balanced methodological and theoretical coverage of key concepts and offers multiple perspectives on the issues being studied in the health communication community around the world. The entries include a broad range of topics including risk and crisis communication, legal and ethical considerations, biological approaches to healthcare communication, tools for predicting the success of health communication efforts, and communication strategies for a variety of specific diseases and illnesses. Covers topics including information seeking and processing, social and community movements, social support and networks, and lifestyle and health promotion Discusses healthcare communication in mainstream media, organizational policy, public health, and social media networks Presents various approaches for effectively implementing, disseminating, and translating health communication in different contexts Contains entries on all major academic organizations involved in the study of health communication The International Encyclopedia of Health Communication is a valuable resource for undergraduate and graduate students taking health communication courses, researchers and scholars looking for an overview of the field, media professionals working on health-related content, and those wanting to better understand how to inform and influence individual, community, and organizational decisions that enhance health.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Studies in Health and Medicine by
With new chapters on key topics such as mental health, the environment, race, ethnicity and health, and pharmaceuticals, this new edition maintains its multidisciplinary framework and bridges the gap between health policy and the sociology of health. It builds upon the success of the first by encompassing a range of issues, studies, and disciplines. The broad coverage of topics in addition to new chapters present an engagement with contemporary issues, resulting in a valuable teaching aid. This second edition brings together a diverse range of leading international scholars with contributors from Australia, Puerto-Rico, USA, Guatemala, Germany, Sri Lanka, Botswana, UK, South Sudan, Mexico, South Korea, Canada and more. The second edition of this Handbook remains a key resource for undergraduates, post-graduates, and researchers across multidisciplinary backgrounds including: medicine, health and social care, sociology, and anthropology. PART ONE: Culture, Society and Health PART TWO: Lived Experiences PART THREE: Health Care Systems, Access and Use PART FOUR: Health in Environmental and Planetary Context
