Books, encyclopedias, handbooks are great resources for getting a scope of your research, developing your terminology to aid your database (article searches), and/or get either an overview or an in-depth analysis on a particular topic (not always available through articles). Sometimes you don't need to read the whole book, but a chapter or two will do.
To search across most of our collection all at once, try searching in SU "LIbraries Search"
Each of these collections allows for full-text searching of the complete content of all titles simultaneously
The five health frontiers a new radical blueprint. by
Covid-19 has exposed the limits of a neoliberal public health orthodoxy. But instead of imagining radical change, the left is stuck in a rearguard action focused on defending the NHS from the wrecking ball of privatisation.
Public health expert Chris Thomas argues that we must emerge from Covid-19 on the offensive - with a bold, new vision for our health and care. He maps out five new frontiers for public health and imagines how we can move beyond safeguarding what we have to a radical expansion of the principles put forward by Aneurin Bevan, the founder of the NHS, over 70 years ago.
Beyond recalibrating our approach to healthcare services, his radical blueprint includes a fundamental redesign of our economy through Public Health Net Zero; a bold new universal public health service fit to address the real causes of ill health; and a major recalibration in the efforts against the epidemiological reality of an era of pandemics.
Political exercise : active living, public policy, and the built environment by
The public health benefits of giving city dwellers increased opportunities to lead physically active lifestyles are well known to urban planners, public health scholars, and government officials. Moreover, increases in “active living,” such as walking and cycling, help the environment, support local businesses, and reduce traffic congestion, among other advantages. But despite wide agreement that active living is both achievable and valuable, best practices are not easy to implement.
Resilient Health Systems by
Since February 2020 the COVID-19 pandemic has strained health systems worldwide. Despite several measures adopted, including the deployment of emergency funds to sustain health service transformations and investment in vaccine development, the crisis has taken over a year to be controlled. The consequences are still affecting the capacity and capabilities of health systems. In light of the ongoing pandemic, this book explores the factors determining the ability of health systems to cope with and recover from a crisis, and therefore their level of resilience. The term resilience has gained momentum in health systems research, with several scholars contributing to the definition of the concept. Providing a comprehensive health system resilience agenda, policy-makers, public health specialists, health managers, scholars and practitioners will find in this work both a grounded framework for the assessment of the level of resilience of healthcare systems and organizations, and specific actionable changes that should be pursued to consolidate and improve that level of resilience. Ultimately, this work identifies desirable paths of action through the investigation of real-world cases to improve health systems and organizations capacity and capability to face any future dramatic crisis.
Rural Health by
Rural health is the study of healthcare systems in rural settings. This book presents a comprehensive overview of rural health care and addresses such topics as human resources, maternal mortality in developing countries, safety of healthcare workers, zoonotic and veterinary diseases, and much more. Chapters include case studies and research in the field of rural health.
Sex Cells by
Sex Cells is a clear-eyed report on the still-pitched battle to get the scientific and medical world to recognize that women are not small men. The idea that our biological sex impacts our health seems like such a simple concept. Unfortunately, it has proven to be anything but that. Phyllis Greenberger's battle cry has been: Women/females need to be treated equitably in relationship to men/males. They are equal, but they are not the same. It has been challenging to get individual researchers and practitioners to accept this, as well as research and medical institutions, and manufacturers of medications and devices. The journey towards equal treatment and the understanding of sex and gender differences in prevention, diagnosis and treatment is still unfolding. This book is the story of that journey--why it was, and still is, so important to do research specific to women/females. Sex Cells gives readers access to the wide world of sex-specific medical issues as they play out in research labs and doctor's offices, and how women pay the price, with a close look at the impact on minority populations. The story is told by Phyllis Greenberger--the woman who is recognized as the driving force for change over the past 25 years--and her allies in government, NGOs, academia, medical research, the US government, and public health advocacy. The array of experts who have contributed to the book offer an insiders' up-close view of the battle to have female cells, lab animals and humans brought into medical research, so that women can receive treatment that is appropriate and effective for a wide range of conditions. Told with humor, ferocity and passion, Sex Cells is a manifesto that will appeal to anyone interested in health, women's rights, and public health policy.
Talking Health by
The COVID-19 pandemic has emphasized the need for health professionals to communicate more clearly about what public health is and why it matters. Public health in the United States has been underfunded, undervalued, and misunderstood largely because of the unclear and inconsistent way health leaders talk about it.Talking Health is intended to help public health and allied professionals communicate about public health more effectively - whether they need to reach policymakers, community partners, the media, or the public. Many people who are trained in medicine or public health have never had to "sell" ideas or policies to uninformed or skeptical partners, but the insights, tools, and resources included in this book can provide a first step toward better communications and stronger partnerships.This book is based on original research and insights by social scientists and seasoned communications professionals at the FrameWorks Institute and Hattaway Communications. It provides practical tools such as tested messaging and effective metaphors to help professionals avoid messages that backfire, answer challenging questions, reframe public health assumptions, and draw on the power of anecdotes while sharing important data. Drawing together leading experts across media and public health, Talking Health is a practical and powerful starting point for those ready to change how public health is viewed and valued in our nation.
Toward a Post-Pandemic World by
To take stock of lessons learned from COVID-19 around the world and in the United States, the Forum on Microbial Threats held two virtual workshops during 2021. The first workshop focused on what it means to frame the response to COVID-19 through a "syndemic" approach, and what the implications would be for global recovery. The second workshop focused more broadly on key lessons and emerging data from ongoing pandemic response efforts that can be incorporated into current health systems to improve resilience and preparedness for future outbreaks. This workshop explored the long-term effects of COVID-19 on health equity, including considerations for mental health and social determinants of health. It also addressed uncertainties during a pandemic, such as trust, communication, and engagement and explored approaches to systematize recovery efforts to improve the ongoing responses and prepare for the next pandemic. Experts discussed possibilities for a post-pandemic world and a response strategy for stakeholders that ensures sustained community partnerships and prioritization of health equity. This Proceedings of a Workshop summarizes the presentations and discussions from the second workshop.
Viruses and Reproductive Injustice by
Brazil's Zika outbreak revealed extreme health disparities and reproductive injustice across racial and socioeconomic lines. Brazil's 2015 Zika outbreak led to severe illnesses for many and the birth of several thousands of children with severe brain damage. Even though mosquito-borne diseases such as the Zika virus affect people across society, these children were born almost exclusively to poor, and usually non-white, women. In Viruses and Reproductive Injustice, Ilana Löwy explores the complicated health disparities and reproductive injustice that led to these cases of congenital Zika syndrome. Löwy examines the history of the outbreak in Brazil and connects it to broader questions concerning reproductive rights, the medical science behind understanding new pathogens, and the role of international health organizations in battling--or ignoring--public health crises. The explanation behind the strongly skewed distribution of cases among social classes was far from straightforward or obvious during the Zika outbreak. Löwy argues that the disproportionate effect of Zika on births among the poor is primarily a function of dramatic disparities in access to contraception and prenatal care, as well as Brazil's anti-abortion laws: only wealthier women have access to safe abortions. This is a book about the changing meaning of an infectious disease outbreak and a haunting demonstration that an epidemic is both a biological and a political event produced by the complicated entanglement of humans, viruses, and mosquitoes.