Research Guides: Public Health: Articles via Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
ScienceDirect Journal articles and book chapters covering science, technology, and medical fields; includes links to external datasets, and chemical reactions data from Reaxys.
Scopus Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

Sometimes starting with a multidisciplinary database is easier to start with at first. These databases will pull literature from multiple disciplines, so use words to describe your population and health issue, for example.

Core literature databases for Public Health

Anatomy

Anatomy.TV 3D human body anatomy with physiology content, as well as case studies, study guides and more.
Visible Body Create a free account with your syr.edu email to access. Provides 3D visualization and interactively views to explore the systems of the human body. It contains anatomical structures, including all major organs and systems. Includes content from both Anatomy and Physiology and Human Anatomy Atlas modules.

Attitudes, Behaviors, & Mental Health

PsycArticles Articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe and Huber covering basic, applied, and clinical psychology, animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsycInfo Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.

Additional psychology databases

Health & Nutrition/Food

Bloomsbury Food Library Books and reference works in food studies, food history and anthropology of food, with a broad coverage of topics, periods, and cultures. Image collections include content from the Culinary Arts Museum at Johnson and Wales University, The National Archives (UK), and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
CINAHL Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) covering literature on allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, nursing and more.
Cochrane Library Cochrane Library Online provides access to evidence-based resources related to healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Clinical Answers.
PubMed MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.

PubMed Online Training (free!) PubMed is a phenomenal health database freely available to you through the National Library of Medicine. These are your tax dollars at work. These tutorials will help you maximize your search strategy in this robust database.

Economics

EconLit Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.
National Bureau of Economic Research: NBER Index of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research.
World Development Indicators Online (WDI online) World Bank statistical data on development indicators including social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Health Communication

ComAbstracts The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials. The database covers fields related to human communication studies including mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history.

Social and Cultural

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts A social science and health information indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Anthropology Plus Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
Sociological Abstracts Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
Sociology Database Journals covering sociology and social work.

Education

Education Source Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
ERIC (EBSCO) Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.

Food/Agriculture & Environmental

AGRICOLA Index to journal articles, proceedings, reports and more in agriculture and related fields such as nutrition, public health, and veterinary medicine.
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases, covering scholarly journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and more, on topics such as agriculture, farming, forestry, nutrition, veterinary sciences, and related fields.
BioOne Bioscience research journals covering agriculture, biology, ecology, environmental sciences, zoology and more.

Policy/Law

HeinOnline United States federal and state laws, international law, case law, treaties, papers, law and international affairs, journals and more. Access provided by Syracuse University College of Law Library.
Nexis Uni News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Policy Commons Papers from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, local governments, and research organizations around the world including papers from dissolved organizations. Includes the modules North American City Reports, Global Think Tanks, World Cities, and World Governments.
PolicyMap Geographic information system with policy-related data about demographics, real estate, crime, income, jobs, education, energy, and more.
Political Science Database Journals in political science and international relations.
Westlaw Campus Research Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, federal and state cases, the Code of Federal Regulations, and more, plus business, company, news and global resources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Specific Population Databases

Look for literature/articles that help you understand the socioecological and psychosocial factors that influence your target population. Brainstorm terminology to begin with and then, as you look over results, jot down additional terminology to broaden your search.

AgeLine Index to articles, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and video related to aging, from health sciences, social, economic, and policy perspectives.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Bibliography of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on Asia published since 1971.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America Index to journal articles, books, essays, government documents and more from the sixteenth century to the present covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Chicano Database Index to materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes coverage of Latinx experience, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants,
Contemporary Women's Issues Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Ethnic NewsWatch Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Gender Studies Journals and magazines on gender studies, sexual behavior, family and marital issues, LGBTQ rights, and health. Provided by NOVELNY.
GenderWatch Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
International African Bibliography Online Scholarly journal and book index for African and African diaspora studies, published in cooperation with the Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa. Includes all entries from the journal International African Bibliography (1971-2015) plus new entries.
LGBTQ+ Source Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies Index to research related to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, from 1900 to present.
Race Relations Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.
Women's Studies International Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.

Pre-Print medRxiv

medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information. They are valuable in the research process as it improves the way that research is shared, improves visibility, and allows for conversation before publication

Caution: Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.

medRxiv